» 0923

Last birthday related post - I promise.
 
I just want to thank everyone - from the bottom of my heart - who made today special, I truly appreciate it. Birthday's - or any celebration - should be spent with friends and family. So thank you, once again.
 
Isn't this the cutest thing ever?
 
Big love to you all. ♥
xox,
Laila
 

» NINETEEN

I am a strong believer of gifting yourself on your birthday - which is exactly what I did since today is my actual birthday!

Although it might be a bit odd or lame, it is still your birthday and you should reward yourself with items you've always wanted or things you need (the latter is obviously better). After all, who knows you better than you?

xox,
My nineteen-year-old self (hey oldie!).



» SURPRISE PRE-BIRTHDAY PARTY

I got surprised - big time - when my sister and B threw me an amazing pre-birthday party yesterday.
They locked me in my room while they prepared the party. By this point, I thought that it would be a small one with only a few girls. 
 
Six hours, three makeup-looks, two hairstyles and several outfits later, I was released to find them waiting for me at the staircase, and my suspections were true; it was a small gathering. 
After greeting and thanking everyone, a flock of girls stormed in from the kitchen as they've been hiding there and it wasn't a small gathering anymore!
 
They left me speechless and in complete surprise. Seeing everyone and watching the arrangements made me increadibly thankful for the lovely people in my life. They may not be many, but they are more than enough. A big thank you and much love to all the girls that made my night memorable.
 
Dress and belt: Zara (the belt was a gift from my sister).
Ring: moms.
Nails: Essie in Stylenomics.
 
The food was delicious!
Here's the starters.
Dessert table. 
Cheescakes by B (delicious) and the chocolate fountain was a gift from her.
The birthday cake was made by my beautiful cousin Z - isn't it increadibly gorgeous?
Makeup, Chanel and 19 - there's a necklace as well! 
 
 
Virgin Mojitos.
 
Thank you M and B.
I love you, pretty ladies! ♥
 

» FOR THE FIRST TIME

It's no secret that Chanel N°5 is one of the worlds most bought fragrance. Listed as one of the most influential fashion icons, Coco Chanel is a symbol of timeless beauty and elegance which is the reason why I've always admired the few things I knew about her. 
 
The little black dress, which I believe every girl should have, is in our closets because of her - she created the wardrobe staple that we can't live without. Let alone, she created the tweed jacket that can't live without.
 
It wasn't until I watched the video about the legendary perfume that made me realise how much she's inspired the fashion and beauty industry, which made me interested to find out more about her to get to know the story of the woman behind the LBD and tweed. 
 
 
Enjoy and be inspired!
xox,
Laila
 

» BIRTHDAY WISH LIST

With my birthday coming up (one week until I turn into an old(-er) lady, buhu!), I thought that a birthday-wish-list would cheer me up - and it did!

It's funny how a palette, perfumes, jewlery and macarons can have the power to change you completely - and no, the materialistic things do not take a big part of lifes happiness, but don't you think they're the reason why we can boost our happiness from time to time? I mean, why would we buy ourselves a new lipstick whenever we nail an exam or finish a project if it wasn't because we don't get any joy out of it. Although that kind of happiness doesn't last in the long run, and even though we'd all love to say that we don't care about the materialistc part of life, the truth is that we do in one way or another. Wheather it is having a pizza from time to time, rewarding ourselves with a beauty product or travelling a couple times a year; we are doing it for one purpose - to feel happy.
So how did this birthday post turn into a happiness 101 therapy? I have no idea.

birthday wish list
Naked palette, two perfumes - a story about the reason I'm completely inspired by N°5 will be up soon. A crisp white blazer (since I've noticed that mine (more than one) are more of a beige-color). MK watch and cartier bracelet - need I say more? Ciate caviar nails and the Zara necklace I've been eyeing for weeks (or months?). And lastly, Macarons from Laduree that should be eaten in Paris - which is a strict opinion of mine that I intend to keep.
xox,Laila


» HEALTHY COOKIES

Since I was having a sweet tooth but didn't want to have any fruits; I decided to bake - something healthy, should be added.

The recipe was really easy as it took two ingredients to whip up these cookies; oats and a banana. I added raisins to make them more fancy.

Did they taste like cookies? No.. But (with a capital letter) they weren't completely disgusting. I ended up using them as bread instead.

Not bad, right?


» ANCIENT CAMERA

While my mom was de-cluttering our photo-album/magazine counter, she found funny pictures of me (and my siblings) when we were younger. We had ourselves a good laugh, but I couldn't help but wonder where the years have gone.
It truly feels like yesterday when I got my very first phone, Nokia 3310, for my birthday, and thought that I was somewhat on top of the world. Having a phone back then was cool - specially if you had hip songs (read: the melody of a song). 
 
Seeing all those pictures made me remember very precious memories, and it all got a million (exaggerating) times happier when we found the actual camera (or one of them since we're not very good with electronics) that captured those moments.
 
Picture from Instagram.
 
Here it is. The lens behind who we are today (oh, the drama). 
I don't even regognise the brand..
Do you?
 
xox,
Laila
 

» PLANNING AND PEONIES

I have re-discovered my love for peonies (not cheating on orchides though!), which is almost enough for me to go to a flower-shop and get myself a bouquet (pathetic? maybe). 
There is nothing wrong with getting yourself a nice bouquet!
 
 
PASTELS
 
Can you guess what I'm planning? (Hint: it's September).
xox,
Laila
 

» MINI SCONES AND BROWNIES

Good morning beauties!
I've been baking all day (read; half an hour), which resulted in a delicious Saturday breakfast/brunch with my sister.
 
 
 
Breakfast is so underestimated! I believe it's the happiest meal of the day, haha!
xox,
Laila
 
PS. This post didn't upload until now - dated with yesterday's date.. Oh hello creepy-ness!
 
 
 

» WAITING FOR MY NAME

Why is it when teachers are going through students names - to see who's present and who's not - everyone looks like stuffed potatoes?
We - or atleast I - can't wait to get our names called out so we can relax and actually pay attention to people around us.
 
And then they call out your name..
What do you do?
'Y-y-es(?)' sounding as if you're having a cold.
 
That's my story guys.
Waiting for my name.
 
To make myself sound less crazy-ish, it only happens in the beginning of a new class.
Another Instagram picture - that's how lazy I am :')
 
xox,
Laila
 

» SLEEPLESS NIGHTS AND EARLY MORNING RISE

Hello sleepless nights and early morning rise.
It's back to school (- or university). In my case, second year of uni - crazy!
 
 
 
  
back to uni
 
I'm kind of looking forward to it though.. Ask me if I'm still happy about it in two months - a guaranteed change of answer.
 
Good night beauties!
xox,
Laila