» BLEACH



To start off; this bleach reminds me of my early teens. I mean, let's face it - I'm Arab. While other girls were painting their toes, I was bleaching my hair.
I absolutely hate facial hair. Even the teeniest tiniest amount - it should be non-existent. Unless you want to sparkle in the sun and pretend that you're a vampire. In that case, go ahead.
 
Eventually I stopped using bleach and learned that wax was my bff (but that's another story). And also, that only vampires should sparkle in sunlight - so long, Edward.
 
As I was filling in my brows the other day (yup, I joined the brow-filling cult a couple years ago), I was being careful not to fill them in too much cause they're already pretty full and super dark. That's when I figured that I should bleach them. Hello? Experimenting with different brow shapes? I was sold!
So I ordered Jolene (which btw was on sale). 
 
Today when I woke up I was determined that it would be the day that I would bleach my brows.
And that's what I did.
 
Do I look like a sick frog? Yup.
Did I fill them in like crazy to try looking like a healthy human? Yup.
 
My brows turned copper.. Like proper Cu copper (hello chemistry). I'm gonna wash them with silver-shampoo tonight and pray that it will mute the brassiness down a bit.
Other than that, they look great when they're filled in (light brown). The problem is when I'm not wearing any makeup. Halloween came early this year.
 
Have you experimented with bleach before?
xox,
The wicked witch of Sweden
 

» TWENTY

 
Today I turned twenty. An officially grown-up-age - but hey, age is just a number.
In the midst of this age crisis, I've been reflecting upon the year that's now gone by (or rather, ran by - seriously where did time go?). It's been a year of laughter and cry, a year of new experiences and getting past old ones. It's basically been another blessed year I've shared with my family and dear friends.
 
What did I wish for this year?
I have everything I could ever ask for and more. Well I might have wished for the bracelet featuring in the photo above, but you get my point.
 
A big thank you to all you lovely readers. I love each and everyone of you.
xox,
One-year-older Laila (because dramatic is my middle name)

» EARLY BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONS

 
Last weekend I was surprised with this gorgeous cake (made by my very talented cousin) at the spa - my skin was in serious need of scrubbing! 
It was followed by a brunch the day after (hello sleepovers!) and I couldn't have asked for a better birthday (even though I hate surprises). So thank you beauties!
 
I have promised you guys a more frequent update on the blog, which haven't been going so well - I blame it on studying. I have a video coming up (haven't put anything up from Paris!) and I might do a tag (video or text - don't know yet). What do you guys think?
 
Happy Friday!
xox,
Laila
 

» MY PARISIAN DREAM

 
A dream. There's always a place we seek within ourselves whenever we need to get away. Mine is Paris.
The city of lights made me believe in dreams again.
 
As we were sitting at a pizza restaurant in front of the Eiffel Tower, we were astonished by the kindness of tourists and Parisians. When I say that everyone talks to everyone, I mean that everyone talks to everyone.
In Montmartre we were enchanted by the beautiful view and completely mesmerazed, again, by the kindness of people. An Italian man, older than my father, sat across from us at a crepés place and was talking about everything from French politics to why there was so many Italians in France. He was a painter and had lived in Paris for more than twenty years. When he had finished chatting, he went his way and we went ours. This happened all around Paris, people chat and then everyone keeps going with their days.
 
A few weeks ago the same thing happened to us when we were at a - believe it or not - pizza restaurant in Lilla torg. A Canadian couple started chatting with us about life, heritage and how to give tips. It made my day.
 
You see, the Canadians we met on the train to Versailles, the Italians at Montmartre and the couple in Lilla torg all have one thing in common - kindness. It doesn't take much effort to smile to people, or to greet the person next to you on the bus. Because if we're not kind towards other people, how do we expect to be treated with kindness?
 
Paris made me see the best in people, and it brought out the best in me. That's why I fell in love with it.
Bisou bisou,
Laila
 

» FUN THINGS

 
 
So this video is hilarious. These guys are basically bringing the YouTube-comedy-challenge concept to Sweden, and I'd love to see how this will evolve. Although I like the English/American versions better, I believe that these guys have great potential.