» LEAP DAY

Today is the 29th of February, a.k.a. LEAP DAY!
This, ladies, means that all of you in Ireland can propose to your man (or a random guy haha).

Now you might be wondering why I suddenly turned so crazy.. Why should a woman propose to her man on this day - can't she do it all year around?

I've written about this before, but I'm not sure if it was in Swedish or English, therefore I'm bringing it up again. When I watched Leap Year (movie) the first time, I was surprised to hear about an Irish tradition - if that tradition is true, I don't know. The tradition says that a woman is allowed to propose to her man on this day.

I think it's a cute tradition, maybe a little bit old fashioned, but it's cute (and hey, I guess I'm a bit old fashioned when it comes to marriage and stuff like that).

So, if I'm not married in ten years (or 8 years!) from now - you know where to find me!

Happy leap day, everyone! ♥


» KEEP LIVING


Picture is from here.

» HEALTHY SNACKS

I'm craving carrots! Yes, you read it right. Carrots and cucumbers with a dip - that's delicious!
And you won't feel bad after having that at ten thirty - which is great.

I will probably go ahead and make that dip and slice the veggies, and I'll enjoy the few hours that are left of this day with a movie (probably an old, classic - Breakfast at Tiffany's, anyone?).



I am actually very impressed by the increasing number of readers! It cheers me up to see that people think that my blog is readable. ♥

» SPARKLE - DETAILS

Today was a great day - the weather is clearing up and it's not as cold anymore! (YAY Malmö!)
I've been out all day, picking up different things I need for some DIY projects and so on.

And later on I went for a long walk with my sister and uncle - I feel very refreshed right now and I'm realizing (thanks to my sister) that I should do this more often, since I haven't been going to the gym for quite a while now (BAD BAD BAD).

Anyhow, I thought I'd share a bit of the DIY project I started working on today - I love it!



I hope you lovelies had an amazing day! ♥
PS. I've been going around feeling that today is sunday.. Silly me haha!


» ONLINE SHOPPING

YES or NO?

When I shop online, it's mostly clothing items I tend to buy - and from stores I already am familiar with, like H&M, or other "famous" online stores like Ellos. But lately I've been looking for a good makeup palette, containing multiple colours that I use (on regular basis and on special occacions).

My friend got another friend a great eyeshadow palette for Christmas - the colours were beautiful. Some of them were shimmery and sparkly, and some were plain. I thought that it was great since I don't like to overdo the eyes with shimmer - no one wants to look like a disco ball! :P

Anyhow, I decided to try one of the palettes from the website that my friend got hers. All I can say is that the pigmentation is amazing (I can swatch the colours on my wrist if anyone is interested) - it's not one of the eyeshadow palettes that doesn't show its colour; this one is visible! (You can probably compare it to high end eyeshadows, like MAC).

To sum this post up, I say YES to online shopping (hey!! I fell in love with the MAC pro longwear concealer through online shopping - and the colour suited me great, even though I haven't tried it in the MAC store. So how can I say no to online shopping?).


PS. Did I mention that the palette has 120 colours? And each and everyone is really pretty!
Wow.. This is one of my first "beauty related" blog post.. How cool isn't that?



» QUESTION

Someone asked me about the featuring dresses in this blogpost. The person, h, asked me where the dresses are from (a website, store).

Firstly, I want to say that when I make a collage, I use a website called Polyvore, and I find everything I use in the collage there - I don't focus on where the items are from. BUT, I managed to search for the website the dresses are from and it is this website.

I hope this answered your question and good luck with your dress-hunting! ♥


» THE TRUTH - Twilight

I will be completely honest with you guys. I was completely and truly obsessed with the Twilight saga. Everything started when I was in 8th grade (about 4 or 5 years ago).

There is something that you can do, that I had done every single year (except one year that doesn't count since we moved out of Sweden) since I was 7 years old. "Läs fem böcker och få en" (=read five books and get one book as a gift) - I am not sure that it's exactly what it's called, bare with me.

That summer, when I read those five books and wrote a review on each and every single one of them I got to pick put a book - as a gift. I remember that I thought that the apple of the front page of "Om jag kunde drömma" (as Twilight is called in Swedish) was really cool and the story was about vampires, which was interesting at that time. The only vampire book that I can remember that I read during that time was probably Dracula - and maybe a few short, infamous vampire fiction novels - but nothing apart from that.

Twilight became a big part of my life. I later realized that Twilight was being turned into a movie and I remember that day as if it was last week. I was at the cinema with my sister and we were waiting for the movie trailers to come to an end so we could get to see the movie (I believe it was Harry Potter - but I could be wrong). That is when I saw the trailer of a story that was extremely similar to Twilight - and I realized later on that it actually was Twilight.

What I'm trying to say and what I planned to write down in short sentences, not a whole essay, is that I really like this book series. And I came to "ok-like" the movies as well. This means that I didn't like it when Stephenie Meyer released "The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner" because that meant that the Edward-Bella drama was over. This may sound odd and even a bit dramatic to you, but these novels mean a lot to me. They opened a fantasy world and I was inspired to follow a dream I've had since I was a little girl - writing. I wrote a "Twilight part 5" after the release of Breaking Dawn because I didn't want the series to reach its end.

Now, I know that I should read "The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner" so I can fall in love with another book series, and be inspired to write something beside vampires, witches and other creatures.

Hopefully I'll like this novel about Bree Tanner as much as I LOVED the story about Edward and Bella.

xx
/Laila


» I MISS EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU

This song is beautiful, and I'm getting addicted to it.
Anyway, I'm gonna work on my "secret project", that seems to be stuck and will never be completely done so I can show it to you guys. BUT I might tell you what it's about soon - once I finish a part of it..

Secrets, secrets..



» THETRUTHABOUT - A golden dream!

Since I will be attending a lot of weddings/engagement parties this year and I haven't found any dresses, I thought I'd put together a collage of what I want to find - and wear!
I love blues and goldes, it looks so princess-ish and so put together.

But don't worry; I will find you, dress!

A golden dream

A golden dream by llalila featuring sweetheart neckline dresses

» BEEN UP ALL NIGHT

My sister is in love with Dear John (the movie) and therefore, she loves this song. I've been listening to it a few times, and I really started liking it yesterday - since I was up all night.

I dedicate this song for my sister ♥


I hope you'll find it as touching as I did!

» THETRUTHABOUT - Quote

"I think of life as a good book.
The further you get into it,
the more it begins to make sense."

- Harold Kushner



Photo is from here.


» FIKA

I've told you guys before that "fika" (=have a "coffee break") is a word that doesn't exist in the English dictionary. But that doesn't mean that I'm not using that word in English - fika is great!

My uncle just came by with donuts - YUMM-O! So we had coffe, donuts and "sandwiches" (why can't I say "mackor" instead? Ahh - English..) and we talked about everything from politics to parties, it was fun.
Speaking of parties, I'm going to an after-wedding-girl-party-thing today.. So many parties/weddings in so little time..






I wish you lovelies a great day! ♥

» TODAY IS THE DAY..

.. of love!

Or is it really the day of love?
It is more like "rose/chocolate-day" and lets just say that I got my chocolate today which means that I'm happy.. But no roses, haha!

I just went through the archive, and saw my blog post for last years V-Day. I can say that as I've wrote before, I still believe that you shouldn't show your love on only one day of the year. Show it everyday.

BUT, Valentines Day is not to be underestimated - I get a huge smile on my face that lasts all day whenever I get something on this lovely day. And it makes me smile even more when I see happy strangers around me (don't get too happy - I meant on the bus or at school haha!), holding their V-Day flowers and other gifts.



Photo by me.

I had this yummy V-Day cake with my mom and sister earlier
today. It was delicious and it looks really pretty, haha!

Happy Valentines Day to all of you, and I want to take the opportunity to thank you all for your support during these years (my blogtime). ♥

» THE TRUTH ABOUT LIFE #6

"Some people believe holding on and hanging in there
are signs of great strength.
However,
it takes much more strenght to know
when to let go
and then do it."

- Ann Landers


Photo is from here.

» THETRUTHABOUT - Accessorize It!

Since it is Valentines Day soon, I thought I'd put together an outfit - what is V-Day without the reds?
Accessorize it!

Accessorize it! by llalila featuring longs jewelry

» VALENTINES DAY

What does V-Day mean to me?

I am such a romantic. The typical I-watch-romantic-movies-and-send-flowers-on-V-Day-girl, is exactly what I am, even though I know that V-Day isn't other than bullshit.

Why on earth do we need to declare our love to someone on that day, what about the other days of the year?
I don't see something special with someone giving you red roses on V-Day, or a box of chocolate or whatever you might get. It would be more special to get these things on other days but V-Day since everyone are expected to get flowers and what not to their special ones (family, friends and so on).

Nevertheless, I LOVE watching romantic movies, lighting candles and getting red roses (or chocolate) on Valentines Day since it is a "special day" even though it shouldn't be.. As you might tell, I am pretty torn up on wheather I really like V-Day or not. But it is a special day since it's international - people all over the world celebrates it. Just like New Years.

What are you doing on V-Day?

» OPEN MY EYES..IT WAS ONLY JUST A DREAM

Currently, I'm not in a blog-mood. Therefore I will upload pictures that describe my feelings - and you might understand why I won't blog (normally) today..






I just LOVE this website. It has pictures for every occasion, and mood..

I hope that you guys had a good day! ♥


» THE TRUTH ABOUT LIFE #5

"You don't know what you have until it's gone"

It's true in every single way, no matter what perspective you have in life, you don't know what you have until it's gone.

Now you might think I'm talking about love. No. I'm talking about life as a complexion. Whatever you lose; your friend, family, house or just anything. You will start missing it, no matter how much (or how little) you were attached to it - it won't be in your life anymore, and you have to realise that.

If you realise that you have lost, whatever it is that you have lost, later rather than sooner, it will not do any good for you. Keep your mind open and you will understand that whatever you lost, you lost it because it was meant to be. It was destiny.

I've lost many friends over the years. I remember that I had really close friends in 9th grade, we always hung around together and became a close group of friends. Once we started the 10th grade - all of us in different schools - we lost the touch we had. You might wonder, why I'm bringing this up and I must say that I'm past that moment of life now. I have made new friends - and I'm still friends with a few "old" ones too - new bonds, and I've grown over the years. I might be young, but I've experienced a number of things in life that really opened my eyes and I started seeing things from different perspectives.

We all grow and need to figure out who we are on our own. Once we start growing up, everything and everyone around us changes. So that quote doesn't have to sound like something negative. It can be positive if we allow ourselves to see it in a positive way - or in a way that we feel comfortable in.

Remember that no matter how hurt you are over your lost, we all go through it. Have a perspective and patience on life, it will show you a great amount of things and you will forgot the resemblance you had to that quote in first place.

 I hope that this post makes sense, and that I'm not just rambling on and off about things, and about my thoughts.





» LAUGHING IN SICKNESS

I went to bed with the worst headache, hoping that it would get away. I woke up today with both headache AND fever.

I hate being sick! It's boring to not being able to do anything. You can't eat or study - and I've got an exam tomorrow! BUT there is ONE good thing with being sick, that makes it less boring.. You can watch series and movies all day, with a cup of tea - with a bit honey. That's what I've been doing today, until recently. I just went out on a walk with my sister, and to get some grocery (just fruit and what not). And I got Digestive. I LOVE that thing! It's delicious.

Anyhow, I'm gonna study now, and have my precious Digestive (that rhymes a bit, doesn't it?).


» THE TRUTH ABOUT LIFE #4

"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take,
but by the moments
that take our breath away."

- Maya Angelon


Photo is from here.


» FOUR MONTHS TO GO (minus a day)

Agh, can't all the exams be over or something? Its annoying to study to two exams at the same time, and I'm getting frustrated.

Anyhow, I've been looking for universities today and I'm actually getting the OMG-I'm-graduating-feeling.



» YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL

Whenever you feel insecure about your looks, remember to look in the mirror again and notice your true beauty. It's true that beauty comes from within.

This clip was sent to me, and I completely agree with the guy.




» THETRUTHABOUT - how to study for an exam

This is the question that most of us (students) worry about. How can we plan our time to study for an exam - and get a high grade?
I thought I'd share my own tips and tricks to help you guys reach your goals.

1. Get a planner.
This will help you plan your time so you can enjoy some spare time while you are studying. You should write down all your exams and plan how much you are to study every day, or every other day depending on when and how big your exam is.

2. Get away from Facebook.
And the Internet!
Don't we all love Facebook? And everything there have a tendency to get more interested whenever we are studying! If you're on Facebook, chances are that you will be looking through profiles, pictures or chat with friends which means that there will be less time for studying. Therefore, don't open your laptop/computer or phone (!) whenever you are studying - unless you have to make researches or write essays on yout laptop/computer. Either way, stay away from websites that might get you distracted.

3. Take notes in classes.
As much as you don't want to listen to your teachers explanation to diffractions in physics or stories about the World War 2, it is important that you pay attention and write down everything they are saying. Your teacher wouldn't talk about something that he/she doesn't find important, and therefore he/she wouldn't ask you questions about non-important things on the exam.

Go through your notes before every class; if you've written down notes about World War 2, and you're teacher is going to go through other details about that war the next day, go through your notes so you can remember it. And once you are going through the notes while studying for the exam, you'll experience "aha-moments".

4. Get enough sleep.
I didn't know that this point was important, and I thought that I could study for several hours and sleep for a couple hours. NO! Don't ignore your sleep. It is extremely important that your body is relaxed and rested and that you're not feeling tired. If you ignore sleeping, it might cause you more harm than good - even though you want to stay up and study. Your brain progresses the things you've learnt while you're sleeping.

5. Don't be hard on yourself.
Don't you all hate it when you try to solve an equation and you're brain completely freezes and you can't seem to solve that equation? Well, we all go through  that and you should keep in mind that you shouldn't be hard on yourself when it happens. 
Try solving another equation instead, or take a short break. Eat something to fill up your energy. Then you should try solving it again.

I remember when I was studying for a huge math final and had trouble solving an equation. No matter how much I tried, the answer was wrong. So I left it, went on with other questions and equations and then went to sleep. I tried solving it again the next morning and I managed solving it! The power of sleep..

6. Don't study the day before the big exam. 
You might be wondering; "is she serious? Why shouldn't you study the day before the exam?"
Well, here is my answer:
You need to relax and not be nervous as well as your brain need some 'time off'. With the "don't study the day before the big exam" I mean that you should only go through some questions or do an exam for yourself, but not try to learn new facts and so on.
This point has helped me a lot and it has worked its miracles on me. I can admit that I can't follow it everytime, because sometimes I haven't finished studying for the exam as well as I should have - we all get those days where we don't want to study. Either way, you should try this and see how it works for you.


I hope that these points might help you to get through your exams and finals!  
xx
/Laila


» GOSSIP GIRL..

.. is one of my absolute favorite tv series of all time.. Well I have to admit that I used to be obsessed with Charmed when I was younger, and I still love them now - I don't like the whole "Prue-died-thing", which might be something that other "Charmed fans" would agree with.

Anyhow (THAT WORD, AGAIN!) I've planned to not study for so long today. Instead, I'll be watching Gossip Girl and I've been told by a couple friends and classmates that this episode is going to be EPIC, since we are gonna know who Gossip Girl really is! GOD! I can't wait until I get to know who she is!

xoxo
/Laila

P.S the xoxo above is inspired by Gossip Girl in case anyone wonders :p.


» LACK OF EXPRESSING MYSELF

.. is what I'm feeling right now. I'm studying, or just looking through some stuff, for the exam tomorrow. In case anyone wonders, it's physics - kill me already!

I want spring and summer to come, fast. And I'm in a mood to throw on or plan a party, with a gold theme like the one in the picture below..
I wonder if I shall re-plan my graduation party?








Pictures are from here.