» FOR THE LOVE OF TULIPS

 
Who doesn't love Fridays? Specially if you've got a late class (later as in 10) and have time to have your morning coffee. 
 
After class I decided to head down town as I'm out of some beauty items and need to re-stock. Particularly since my skin is suffering of severe dryness and I've been out of moisturizer. Totally the end of the world.
You guys know how it is with these 'quick' trips to a department store. You go in to get one thing, and walk out with too much. Or in my case, a not-so-needed-but-very-sought-after lipliner. I mean, who actually needs a lipliner? Or another face powder to add to the never ending collection of powders?
 
But I did pick up beautiful tulips on my way home, walking past every clothing store on my way - including the sale at Zara. #ProudMoment
Other than that, I've spent the day with my cousin, eating very easy and absolutely delicious home-made croissant wannabes over a cup of tea and a dose of gossip. 
 
I hope you all had an amazing Friday.
xox,
Laila

» FOR THE LOVE OF DAYDREAMS

 
1. I should probably be more creative when it comes to titles. 2. I should get over Paris already!
But I like the titles and I love Paris - and I have no inspiration what so ever right now, so bear with me.
 
This is when I could use your help. What do you guys want me to write more about? My life (which isn't very exciting at the moment), makeup, style, politics, biology? Because sometimes I wonder what it would be like if I would have a biology blog and write about the weirdest, most fascinating things ever.
Right now I think that this blog is lost in genre, and I would really like to put more time into it. So I am also wondering what makes you read this blog; what's interesting about it? 
 
I would love hearing your feedback.
xox,
Laila

» FOR THE LOVE OF VITAMINS


Since my insomnia has made a comeback while being sick, I've been having gallons of tea to calm my throat and get my voice back. #bringbackmyvoice
But jokes aside; vitamins in the form of an orange, favorite tea and a movie makes being sick bearable. 

Goodnight loves.
xox,
Laila

» FOR THE LOVE OF FORTUNES

 
"Good things come to those who wait."

I'm a big believer in working towards or for what you want. Let it be a better job, a better life or a better you. And that's how it is supposed to be, because nothing comes fully served. Even if you happen to be in a not so good place right now, there's always light at the end of the tunnel - which took me a while to realize. Because the experience from whatever it you're going through right now, will take to where you're supposed to be tomorrow.
All it takes is patience.
 
I am sharing my fortune with you and wishing you a great week.
xox,
Laila

» EYEKO

 
I'm obsessed with Eyeko mascaras. Never before have people, strangers even, complimented my lashes - all thanks to this increadible product.
 
Naturally, I've got long, but kind of straight lashes. And I don't really use an eyelash curler because I believe it ruins the lashes (I use them on special occasions though) - so if you curl your lashes after applying mascara, do that behind my back. But this mascara changed my life completely. I barely wear eyeshadow or eyeliner (everyday) anymore, and if you know me, that should come as a surprise.
 
I got the Eyeko skinny brush mascara first. When I first used it, I wasn't impressed but I decided that I should give it a few tries. Thankfully! Because it was very wet when I first used it, but after a few times, it got the perfect dry (not too dry) formula that I love in mascaras. It's completely water resistant, so it's a pain to get off at night, but so worth it. I haven't experienced any damage to my lashes because of it being water resistant. And the brush is amazing - really lifts my lashes up and lengthens them.
 
A few weeks later I thought that I should give the Eyeko curvy brush a try as well, because I seriously love the skinny brush. I'm not impressed with it. The formula is amazing, just like the skinny brush, but the brush itself isn't what I normally go for in a mascara. It transferred to my lid - I can't work with a brush like that. So I use the skinny brush instead of the curvy one (but the curvy tube, if that makes any sense). 
 
They come with shields, which I don't really enjoy using.
 
The skinny brush 
 
The curvy brush
 
The best part; the tube is squeezable, just like a toothpaste tube, so you'll get to use
every last bit of product.
 
It's a product I'll definitely re-purchase and I think that you should give it a try. You'll be surprised at how your lashes will look. (I would've included pictures of my lashes, but I have no idea how to take them without looking stuck by a bee).
xox,
Laila

» FOR THE LOVE OF PROCRASTINATION

 
I should win an award for procrastination. 
Behind every confidence interval (95% ones if you're wondering - let's assume you are) there's time for procrastination. 
 
Do you ever start planning your life when you really should be working towards it (in my case; studying). That's what I'm dealing with right now. Well, that and a bowl of yoghurt and pomegranate seeds - so delicious. 
 
In all honesty though, it's - sometimes - very fun to study. If you've ever taken a statistics course (or chemistry or math for that matter), there's some kind of satisfaction when you finally get the hang of things - just like everything else in life. And I love playing this game of 'how many words or numbers can I fit into one sheet of paper' - you know that things get real when you start doing that. Try it.
 
Have a great wednesday!
xox,
Laila

» FOR THE LOVE OF SCISSORS

The time I went for blue hair. Disaster. 
 
When women opt for a change in their lives, they change up their hair. We've all tried different side and middleparts, and you know how powerful that can be - it makes you feel like a new woman. So a haircut or even a few ehm 'natural' highlights can be life changing.
 
But does a haircut really change up your life?
 
If I look back at the few times I've chopped my hair off, I can assure you that it really is life-changing. We go through different things in life, and the first time I chopped my hair off, was because I was in need of a change. It's like changing up your perfume, or your makeup. You make small changes to get to where you want to be. I mean, if I take a sniff (haha) at my perfume collection, I can tell where I was at that point of my life. It's very sentimental. And you know how they say that scents and memories are connected? I strongly believe in that.
 
I'm aware that these are only outer changes, but don't you think that if you change the way you present yourself to the world, you might be going through an inner change as well? Look at girls with bold lipsticks. More than often, red lips - or any bold color - represent strength or confidence. I wouldn't wear a red lip if I wasn't confident enough that day - because the red color brings out every little imperfection on your face, and I believe that it takes great confidence to pull it off. Same thing goes to outfits. Even though these are only a reflection of who we are, we choose to present ourselves in a certain way. 
 
"A woman who cuts her hair off is about to change her life."
 Coco Chanel knew the power of a good haricut as she wisely stated that quote. Because in the end, it's much more than an outer change, even if we don't give it much thought at the time. 
 
For the love of scissors,
Laila

» WHAT'S COOKING, GOOD LOOKING

 
Putting the cheesy title aside, I'll let you know how yesterday's cooking class went. When I say cooking class, I mean that I went to my auntie's house and she taught me, my sister and B how to make dolma (basically that's stuffed vine leaves).
Did I learn how to cook, you might wonder (technically I'm asking, but hey..). Nope. I can roll them though (the vine leaves) - so that must count.
On another note, they were delicious. Really. So I suggest team work everytime I need/should/will cook.
 
Forks up for a lovely teamwork.
xox,
Laila

» NEW YEAR'S DAY

A throwback picture since I'm still in my pj's - don't judge.
 
I've spent the day with my family, in pj's and everything that comes with it - including hair in a bun - watching YouTube videos. Could this year have a more perfect start?
 
It's the small things in life that reminds us of what is yet to come, the things that never were and the things that will never be. Knowing that everything is exactly where they belong. 
The start of a new year doesn't have to be the time to change our lives. Neither is the start of a new week. If you want to change your life, change it. Not tomorrow, not next week, not next year - change it now. Because as Gandhi said,
"Be the change you wish to see in the world" - and your life for that matter.
 
Still, a new year is exciting. 
I don't have many resolutions, I just have one; to take every opertunity that is given to me. No matter what it is, because you never know where the roads might lead you. What is there to lose?
Let's make twenty fifteen our year.
xox,
Laila