» WHAT DID I ACTUALLY DO IN LONDON?

 
Hey guys!
I've gotten a few questions lately about what I was doing in London and how I found it. So I thought why not write a blog post about this.
 
As many of you guys may or may not know, I'm still at uni (master's courses now though). I knew that the one thing I really wanted to do before graduating from university was to do a semester abroad.
And that's what I did in London.
 
Since my university (the one in Sweden) doesn't have any connections with universities in London (they have connections with UK, just not London specifically), and I had already specified what city I wanted to be in, I thought that I should do an internship/traineeship abroad. So I started emailing a bunch of universities in London last November. I literally found a list of universities and was emailing and calling them like crazy. By December, I got one offer from an amazing university that I could start my traineeship in January. But, as life is very unexpected, that didn't work out. So I started a new course at my home university and kept applying for traineeships. When I was about to give up, I got an offer from the university I went to this Spring/Summer. 
That was the best decision I've ever made.
 
Once they've agreed and decided when I could start, I contacted my study councelor and the people responsible for Erasmus. Before I knew it, all the forms were signed and I was on a plane to London (you can read that story here).
 
I was working on a project there to look into whether or not head lice are a potential risk for infection. So we did DNA extractions, some cultivation (just one, because science never listens to your plans), and lots and lots of PCR. PCR has a soul of its own. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't - all depending on its mood.
 
I hope this post answered some of your questions.
xox,
Laila
 
//
 
Hej bloggen!
 
Jag har fått en hel del frågor om vad jag gjorde i London, och hur jag hittade det. Så jag tänkte skriva ett inlägg om detta.
 
Som många av er vet (eller inte), pluggar jag fortfarande på universitet. Jag visste att jag verkligen ville studera utomlands en termin innan jag tog examen, och det är exakt det jag gjorde i London.
 
Eftersom mitt universitet hemma inte hade några samarbeten med universitet i London (de hade samarbeten med andra universitet i UK), och eftersom jag verkligen visste vilken stad jag ville vara i (London), tänkte jag att jag istället borde praktisera utomlands. Jag började mejla en massa universitet i London förra november. Jag hittade en lista över alla universitet som fanns i London (och som jag var intresserad av), och började mejla och ringa dem. I December hade jag fått ett erbjudande av ett universitet och kunde påbörja praktiken i Januari. Men eftersom livet är väldigt oförutsägbart, funkade det inte. Så jag läste en ny kurs hemma och fortsatte söka efter praktik. När jag var nära på att ge upp, fick jag ett erbjudande från universitetet där jag praktiserade i år.
Det var det bästa beslutet någonsin.
 
När de hade bestämt när jag kunde börja, kontaktade jag min studievägledare och de som är ansvariga för Erasmus på min skola. Innan jag visste ordet av, hade alla papper skrivits under och jag var på ett flyg till London (ni kan läsa om detta här).
 
Jag jobbade på ett projekt där vi skulle kolla om huvudlöss kan vara en hälsorisk. Så det blev en hel del DNA extraktioner, kultiveringar, och en massa PCR. 
 
Jag hoppas att detta besvarade en del av era frågor.
xox,
Laila

» TWENTYTHREE

 
 
It happened. Again. Yesterday was my birthday.
I'm 23 now. Let's try to remember that and not have a brain freeze whenever someone asks how old I am.
 
At 00:00, my babes threw stones (or was it something else?) on my window and sang me happy birthday with cake and presents. Then we ended up chilling all night, going out makeup-free (and in our hoodies) for some takeout in the middle of the night, and just watching a bunch of movies.
 
The next day (on my birthday morning), we had family brunch with lots of cake and coffee. Then we got ready to go to Copenhagen for dinner, which was lovely.
Basically I had a great birthday.
Thanks girls! ♥

» BUT FIRST, COFFEE

 
 
Let's throw it back to breakfast @ the breakfast club (at London Bridge).
First of all, that breakfast was amazing. Second, is it just me or is the food super photogenic?
 
I'm back in Sweden, as you guys may or may not know. A blog post about my journey back is coming up next.
I'm currently trying to recover from a terrible cold, but also talking myself into going to my lecture today. Maybe I should consider doing a motivational post about university?
 
I hope you all have a lovely Tuesday!
xox
 
//
 
Låt oss blicka tillbaka till frukost på the breakfast club i London Bridge.
Kan jag börja med att säga att frukosten var helt underbar. Och sen undrar jag om det bara är jag som tycker att maten är helt fotogenisk?
 
Jag är tillbaka i Sverige nu, som ni kanske vet (eller inte). Ett blogginlägg om resan tillbaks kommer upp snart.
I skrivandes stund försöker jag återhämta mig från världens jobbigaste förkylning, och också intala mig själv att jag måste gå på föreläsningen idag.
Jag kanske borde skriva några inlägg om universitet/högskola?
 
Hoppas att ni har en härlig tisdag!
xox

» EID MUBARAK

 
 
 
 
This picture is an iPhone pic because everyone ended up bringing lots of food