» AWKWARD HAND




I finally removed the shellack (using acetone and foil - super easy!), and painted my nails with a grey-ish color that resembles the color of blue-tack. I have yet to decide if I like it or not. 
I tried taking a picture of my nails, but since my hand looked awkwardly big and child-looking (?) in every single picture, I (actually you) needed the filter to make it look kind-of-acceptable - well, at least at the very edge of being acceptable (making everything so dramatic, but what's new?).
 
Anyhow, the reason for this post wasn't to discuss my awkward hand or blue-tack nails. I simply found myself very un-motivated, but had to (still have to) finish a couple excercises. Since I always watch a movie/tv-show/listen to something (obviously something I've watched before to not get distracted) when I study (otherwise I get bored and will have a break every five minutes), I have to suggest watching Legally Blonde if you're in the same situation. It's great for motivation! 
 
xox,
Laila
 

» WEIRD LOOKING BLOG?

The reason for the somewhat weird(er) looking blog-design is because of my current work on a new blog-design (well, more like changing up a design I like - easier said than done!). 
 
xox,
Laila
 

» LATE TEA


Because of my horrendous sleeping schedule, I'm watching the Vampire Diaries and having delicious tea in the hopes of getting tired - and falling asleep!
 
Don't mind my horribly grown out nails though (my thumb doesn't look half as bad as the rest of them!). Perhaps this picture will motivate me enough to fix them.
 
For now, I wish you all a lovely night. 
xox,
Laila
 

» FREQUENTLY WRITTEN

Picture from unknown source.
 
As for my lack of posts (feels like I say - write - this very frequently), I've been combining exam studying with no sleep, which in the end resulted in me not falling asleep before 3 am. Which isn't the greatest. So I've basically rubbed my circadian rhythm (hello humanphysiology, fancy meeting you). But I've got that somewhat under control now - woop woop!
 
I won't make any promises about writing daily posts, but I'll try - again (at least twice a week). I've got some reviews coming up, and perhaps a vlog from christmas break (if I manage editing it) - well, if you're interested in that, otherwise I'd be pretty embarrassed putting it out there haha. If you have any suggestions, feel free to tell me!
 
Motivation starts and ends with you perhaps something to live by this week.
xox,
Laila
 

» BECAUSE WE'RE BEAUTIFUL

 
I've tried writing this post way too many times this past week, and somehow, I couldn't bring myself to post it.
Maybe because I was ashamed for allowing myself, even for a brief moment, to feel less about myself
But isn't that how we function?
Someone tells us that we're not beautiful enough for them, or for the society we're living in, and we believe them or question ourselves.
Am I not good enough?
Is there something wrong with me?
 
When it strikes, people will either start whispering about the situation you've been awkwardly placed in, pity you or assure you that you're good enough. It's like you're walking around with a big stamp that says 'feel sorry for me'.
That's worse than being told that you're not good enough.
 
To answer the questions above; you're more than good enough, it's society that's ugly. Beauty comes in different colors, shapes and sizes - that's what makes beauty beautiful. 
If someone has a problem with that, so what? One person might think you're the ugliest person alive, while another might think you're gorgeous. And if someone wants to, for some reason, tell you that you should do this or that to make yourself more desireable, screw them!
 
If they couldn't have the decency to at least tell you whatever they want to change about you (which is bisarre!) in private (and not publicly where everyone could clearly hear them), you shouldn't pay any attention to their sharp words. Because in this situation, the same person have tried breaking other people down as well, but never succeeded. I mean, bullies have issues of their own, that they take out on people - or more like attack in this case. The best thing to do is smile and walk away. I won't change myself to satisfy others, and neither should you.
 
Isn't there a saying that says if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all?
Because I am beautiful, and so are you ♥
 

» SOOTHING ATMOSPHERE

 
This is the second incense (scented stick sounds better, but hello new word!) I've burnt today. I simply love the scent of it!
Along with scented candles and delicious body sprays (that I spritz in my room), it makes a great atmosphere for studying - or relaxing (or both). Well, you should be pretty relaxed while studying, to make it less stressful.
 
Now I'm going to hunt some more scents down! (now a.k.a tomorrow/in a year)
Wish me luck! (as if I'm applying to the military..)
Oh the sarcasm..
xox,
Laila
 

» DETOX WATER



Since I neglected water these past few days, due to traveling (I don't like water in other countries), I've tried drinking as much as possible when I came back. Dehydration? YES!
That was the reason for this detox water - it's very hydrating!
 
I put cucumber, lemon and lime slices in my water - and ice - and with a fun straw, I'm ready to hydrate my body. It's delicious too!
 
xox,
Laila
 

» TWENTYFOURTEEN

 
Another year has passed by - quickly, I might as well add.
It has been a year of great laughter and greater cry. I've learnt valuable lessons and made new friendships. But most importantly, I've enjoyed life to its fullest and gotten to know myself.
 
Although the previous year hasn't been my year in that specific definition, I've been blessed with a life filled with amazing people, that I'm truly honored to call friends and family - which has been the greatest gift.
 
This brings me to my new years resolution which I, for the first time in a thousand years, am left without!
I decided that my only resolution is to just be, and whatever this year is to bring, it will and I'll leave it be. Life isn't supposed to be perfect, which I've previously tried to make of it; it's supposed to be beautiful, and beauty isn't perfect.
 
With those words, I wish you a beautiful twentyfourteen ♥
Love,
Laila