» THE GIRL WITH THE MESSY MAKEUP

I like organizing. In fact, I love it!
It make me feel that my life is organized - which is not even close to what my life is haha.
 
As I was stuying today, I looked over to my makeup 'station' (it's not your traditional vanity) and hated the mess.. Foundations and blushes mixed together, missing lipsticks (mission impossible on finding them.. I need Tom Cruise), etc. So I decided to re-organize it and sort out the mess (I had already gotten rid of old products a couple weeks - or month(s) - ago).
 
It was a horrible mess.. As you can see - nothing was in it's place (and obviously I don't keep my
makeup on the floor - I just put it there to sort it out.. It's all safely stored!).
I realized that I had many (my opinion on many - I know that my makeup collection isn't big) blushes..
And discovered products I had forgotten about.. I sharpened my liners (lip and eye), and threw empty 
pots (don't know why i kept empty powders in the first place)..
And I also stored my samples - as I tend to throw them into one of the bins as I get them - in hope of 
trying them out but that never happen, does it?
My little box of samples. I've actually got some really nice samples! Clinique foundation, primer and
mattifying lotion from Murad, hair samples, perfumes (the ones I tend to reach for the most since I
throw them in my bag - easier than bringing a full-sized perfume!).

XX
/Laila
 

» THE GIRL WITH THE HENNA TATTOO

Since my cousin is getting married on Saturday (woop woop); the hen party (yes, hen - not henna - party), was two days ago.. And I got myself a henna tattoo (I am such an arab haha!).
 
With that being said; I'm going to start a new 'series' on the blog - there is an upcoming bright blogging time. Did that make sense? No? That makes us two (or more..). I'm confused.
 
The rose was given to me by the bride-to-beand my nails were horrible (don't judge..).

XX
/Laila
 

» I'M MY OWN NUMBER ONE

The journey we know as life has taught me a lot.. 
Patience, respect and values are things I truly believe in and try living by (still working on the patience part)..
 
They're extremely important and without them you're left with nothing, because you're not left with much in life - beside yourself and therefore you can only work on yourself..
Yes, you've got family and friends. But they're not always going to be there, are they?
Make yourself your number one priority, and take everything else from there.
  
I'm a bit old-fashioned when it comes to symphonies. I love Pachelbel (and Mozart, Bach, Beethoven - probably my favorites). But this one has a special place in my heart - since I was very young.. 
Isn't it soothing? It is my number one LOL!
 

Remember lovelies; you are your number one priority, and you are number one.
xx
/Laila
 

» OMBRE NO MORE?

So I've had this thing for ombre hair for the past year (?), which made me ombre my hair last summer (I did it myself), and it turned out better than expected! 
But the thing is that it has faded away and isn't as 'ombre' anymore..
 
I called my hairdresser, to book an appointment to ombre it (professionally this time), but that won't happen...
Why? Because apparently, you can't color already color treated hair (even though mine was only colored at the tips and is natural at the roots..).. So now I'm frustrated and still want to ombre it..
 
Should I do it myself (again) and risk it looking like an orangutang? Or leave it as it is - and not even cut it?
Decisions, decisions..
 
For those of you that don't know what ombre is; it's basically dark-light hair (gradually). Like Khloe's..
Picture from here.
 
Now I'm gonna have a treatment day (or hour); aka. shower, facemask, hairmask and all that thing to feel better about the whole ombre thing (yes, I don't know why it made me sad that I can't have it now haha!).
xox
/L
 

» THREE LETTERS; WOW..

I woke up today around 7, but was too lazy to get up to start my day.. That was probably because of the fear I have towards failing my upcoming exams (note the plural.....).

I won't allow myself to fail - or I used to not.. But now I've realized that failing is part of life - and uni (apparently..).

With that being said, I'm currently phone blogging with a massive headache which is caused by the non-stop studying (except for lunch break and a short 'family time') since 9.. (Yup, I am complaining a bit - or much - and yes, I know that it's not fun to read, but I really have nothing else to write..).

So basically, what I'm annoyed with is that I've studied for both exams (one a bit more than the other), but still; I'm just half prepared for both of them! And the first one is on Monday.. Oh the excitement!

I will head to the land of unicorns and rainbows.. At least that's more fun than exams! (ugh - I should really really really (!) stop complaining!).
Goodnight beauties
XX
/Laila (as if someone else would be writing in my place..).


» WARDROBE STAPLES

Wardrobe staples
 
Wardrobe staples by llalila featuring h&m
 
My wardrobe changes overtime, but my staples rarely change..
Printed pantsblack trousers and jeans are amazing - they can dress up a blouse or dress it down! But I fear that the printed pants might not always be "in trend"..
The black blazertweed jacket, and cardigan speak for themselves - they're great pieces!
The black maxi dress is my take of the LBD (even though I've got quite a collection of the little black dress..). It's perfect for weddings, picnics, dinners, you name it!
And let's not forget about a black bag (the bigger the better haha!).
For shoes, I had a very hard time narrowing it down.. But nude heels can be worn to parties and everyday (even though I'm not a heels person..), and black boots are a winter staple. Flats - like loafers - are great for summer though..
A white blouse is a must! It can be dressed up with heels and dressed down with jeans.
A black peplum is a recent favorite of mine (which means that I've cheated since it haven't been a staple for long), so any black blouse (or shirt - whatever you prefer) is important to have..
I believe in accessorizing - and won't stop even it it might be 'too much'; therefore, a big statement necklace must be included (the more, the merrier).
 
As you might tell, I absolutely love black (and white).. Weirdly, those colors make me happy (clothing wise), haha!
 
Do you have any staple pieces?
xx
/Laila
 

» LIFE ON HOLD?

Yo blog! (yup, I just said 'yo')
Guess what? My life is on hold, and I keep asking myself, why not rewind to let me breathe through this hell?!
Frustration, frustration.. But in between exam studying, dress hunting and being abnormal, I haven't had time to take a deep breath and think (!)..
 
Good news though; 
I found a dress! Or found is a bit too harsh, since I had already ordered it, recieved it and had decided not to wear it.. But with a bit of bling and makeover it will look absolutely gorgeous OK.. I'm not completely in love with it; but you gotta make it work, right?
 
I'm currently studying while writing this - or was studying and then decided to let you guys suffer through my rambling :') (<-- tears of joy)..
 
Before I make a complete fool of myself and write down stuff I won't even understand (headache kicked in + study fever; am I allergic to studying? Please say yes!), I will say peace out (wow..)!
 
Todays Instagram picture.. The biologist in me is alive (!)..
 
Take care pretty people, 
xx
/Laila
 

PS. I will change the blog header and the design soon (aka in a couple weeks) because the menu isn't working as it's supposed to.. I should take a course in blog designing and the whole code-system!
 

» DRESS HUNTING OR CALORIE INTAKE?

Since I'm (still) learning how to drive (lack of time); I drove to Nova Lund in hopes of trying to find the dress (to my cousins wedding).. But of course, they don't have the same stuff online and in store at Topshop (it was a fancy dress).. So my dreams were crushed and I left the store crying..
 
Joking.
I turned around (drama doesn't hurt) to find a straightner! I've had mine for six (!) years! Insane, I know..
And I needed a new one → I just had to get it when I saw it.. And it was on sale (?).. But I really do recommend it - it's amazing! (Review if requested).
 
 
 
So we ended up getting smoothies at the Naked Bar - yum!
And now I shall head back to studying.. We should boycott exams!
Those in favor say "AY" (?)..
 
xx
/Laila
 

» DEATH IS SO NEAR

I was planning on writing another post, but this topic immediatly came up.. 
Death is so near
 
We will never know when, where and how we'll die. But don't we want to know that we've made everything possible to be true to ourselves, and fulfill our goals before death comes sneaking up on us?
I certainly want to make sure that I've done everything in my power to be true to myself (morals and values) and fulfill my goals - or atleast make an effort towards them.
 
People die when we least expect it, and even if we have been expecting it, even if we personally didn't know them, we can relate to the tragedy of losing them.
At that point, I have one thought in my head..
Is everything I've done in life; every teeny tiny mistake, every 'wrong turn', worth it in the end?
Is it really worth risking your values or losing your morals because of a wrong turn, or even doing something you don't truly love.
 
I've now come up with the realization that life is too short, and it can be taken away from me when I least expect it.. And the lives of the people you love can be taken away from them when you least expect it. So don't take them for granted.. Don't even take yourself for granted, and don't ever take your life for granted.. But you shouldn't let people take you for granted - they're not worthy of your friendship (or whatever) if they do.
 
You should do what you love, dream big and be generally happy (haven't we heard that in overdose? But it really is the way of living). Don't forget about your friends/family even if they've forgotten you - make an attempt to take part of their lives.. 
 
In the end, we only have one life; how would you like to live yours?
 
PS. I'm utterly sorry if this was very messy.. My excuse? It's past bedtime (drama, drama..) and organic chemistry (kill me!).
 

» SPRING CLEANING

Waking up to sunlight (yesterday), I decided that it was time to stock away all the chunky knits - and sort out some of those messy drawers. 
What I thought would be a tiny project, ended up taking hours! I had recently thrown out six (!)bags of clothes I didn't need or want - and let's face it; those stocked away dresses will never be worn.
 
How do you know what to keep and what to throw?
I say keep everything that you reach for from time to time and that will never be out of fashion. Jackets, cardigans, jeans (not if they don't fit), dresses, purses, etc. But throw/give away the items you haven't worn for about a year.
 
Being a clothes collector (I just hate to throw away items that might become a hit one day..) - I had three (!) boxes of stocked away clothes that I never wore.. Some of them for way too many years that it'd make me embarrassed to confess exactly how many..
When I (a couple months (?) ago), decided that it was time to donate them to people in need, I was left with two boxes - that's a huge effort of donating/throwing away clothes, being me..
Today I'm only left with one box (this sounds like a commercial!) - and it feels gooooood! Note the amount of o's..
 
I snapped some pictures to motivate you guys to spring clean your closets!
And I'd love to see your spring cleaned closets - nosy? Yes..
 
I didn't snap any pictures of my drawers, etc. because that would be way too much details..
 
Hanging up summer dresses or any item you really love, will make you happy whenever you get
dressed.
 
That used to be where I hung up my dresses, but I needed more space → dresser! I brought it up 
when I first cleaned my closet (months ago), and since my room is small and there's no other space
in my closet because of another "dresser", I had to remove my dresses.. But I used the rack to hang 
up my favorite necklaces.. Decorating with jewelry is a great way to personalize a space.
 
Random rings and other stuff in this tray..
 
Whites, to light greys (there's a missplaced cardigan), to pinks/reds, greens, blues, blacks and then
some dresses - I mostly wear whites and blacks; not a very colorful palette.
I hung up these purses for inspiration.. Another way is to hang up pictures from magazines, quotes etc. 
I've done all of the above because I'm cheesy like that LOL.
I've put my work-out-gear in this basket to remind me to work-out. I put it on the floor so I'll see it
whenever I walk in. That will make me to remember to work-out and make me feel bad when I don't!
 
Do let me know in the comments if you decided to spring clean your closets!
xx
/Laila