» WINDSOR CASTLE

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Two Sunday's ago we decided to go to Windsor Castle. We booked our train tickets the night before and had to run to the bus (to go to the train station) on the Sunday.
The train got severely delayed, which meant that our castle wandering got a bit delayed too. We bought tons of snacks and eventually got on the train to Windsor.
When we arrived it was slightly after noon and we headed straight towards the castle where we had to queue to get tickets (queue was ridiculously long but the wait was super short, around 30 minutes).
We waited for our friend as well that was gonna meet us at the entrance with her baby.
 
The castle is one of (if not the) oldest castles in Europe. It looked super old but it was so pretty! We went to the chapel, the dollhouse (absolutely stunning!) and just walked around. A man that worked there told us that the dollhouse had real pipe and water systems, and electricity. All the books in the little dollhouse were written by real authors of that time, like Charles Dickens! The same goes for the artwork and the cars (hello Rolls Royce). So cool!
There was a no photography rule so sadly I got no photos inside the castle. But it is definitely worth a visit if you've got a day to spare in London. 
 
We ended the day with lunch/dinner at Carluccio's - big disappointment. And after many wrong turns (car) we finally made it back home, exhausted but alive after a really great day.
 
xox
 
//
 
För två söndagar sen bestämde vi oss för att besöka Windsor slott. Vi bokade tågbiljetter kvällen innan och fick springa till bussen (för att ta oss till tågstationen) samma dag.
Tåget var väldigt försenat, så hela dagen försköts. Vi köpte en massa snacks och gick tillslut på tåget mot Windsor.
Vi kom fram strax efter lunch och gick raka vägen till slottet för att stå i kö till biljetterna (köet var väldigt långt men det gick så snabbt). Vi fick vänta på vår kompis som skulle träffa oss där med hennes bebis.
 
Slottet är ett av Europas äldsta  slott (om inte det äldsta). Det såg väldigt gammalt ut, men det var jättefint! Vi gick till kapellet, dockhuset (så himla vackert!) och gick bara runt. En man som jobbade där berättade att dockhuset hade riktiga rör och vattensystem, och elektricitet. Alla böcker i det lilla dockhuset var skrivna av riktiga författare också, så Charles Dickens fanns med! Samma sak med konsten där och bilarna (Rolls Royce). Helt sjukt!
Man fick inte ta bilder där, så jag har inga bilder inuti slottet.. Men det är definitivt värt ett besök om ni har en dag över i London.
 
Vi avslutade dagen med lunch/middag på Carluccio's - riktig besvikelse. Efter en massa felkörningar (vi blev körda hem) kom vi äntligen hem, helt utmattade efter en fantastisk dag.
 
xox

» ILY LONDON

I've loved every single moment. The good, the bad and the in between. So here's to tears, laughter and never ending train rides. Here's to forever kind of friendships and to an amazing journey. 

Here's to the best six months of my life. 
You know how they say that we'll always have Paris? Me, I'll always have London. 


» SHOPPING IN THE RAIN

 
 
I may or may not have the most annoying post rain-stroll migrane ever. Am I the only one that gets really sharp headaches whenever I walk in the rain?
Today I went to Oxford street because I have been on the hunt for a lightweight trenchcoat/duster for a while now. And I found the one - in a light grey. I also picked up a few other things like a flamingo lamp (?) and individual lashes from Primark because I've heard that they're as good as Ardell - my all time faves (I don't like full strip lashes, so I do individuals).
 
The reason I even decided to go in the rain was because I thought I'd be able to avoid the crowds. Obviously I was wrong..
Also, I can't believe that this is my last Wednesday in London. Where has time gone?
 
xox
 
//
 
 Jag har nog fått världens jobbigaste huvudvärk efter att ha gått runt i regnet. Är jag den enda som får regn-relaterade huvudvärk?
Idag har jag gått runt i Oxford street på jakt efter en tunn trenchcoat, som jag hittade (i ljusgrå). Jag plockade även med mig ett par andra saker, som flamingolampan (?) och individuella ögonfransar från Primark för att jag har hört att de ska vara lika bra som Ardell - mina absoluta favoriter (jag gillar förresten inte en hel "strip" av ögonfransar på mig själv, därför kör jag alltid på individuella).
 
Anledningen till varför jag överhuvudtaget gick ut i regnet var för att jag trodde att jag skulle undivika folkmassorna. Såklart hade jag fel..
Jag kan inte fatta att detta är sista onsdagen i London. Vart tog tiden vägen?
 
xox

» GIRLS' WEEKEND - THE LONDON EDITION

 
 
 
 
A few weeks ago, my sister and cousin came to visit me here in London. They were here for a weekend (Mona was here a little longer), and we had a blast! It was Mirriam's birthday weekend (need to find a nice picture of us two that doesn't involve workout leggings or kittens). 
We went to the rooftop gardens (ultimate fail), a bunch of cute cafés, oxford street, a trampoline park and of course my ultimate favorite; notting hill - where we took a bunch of cute pictures.
 
Last time I was away with these two was Paris a few years ago, and that trip will forever be one of my all time faves. How lucky am I to not just be related to these weirdos, but they're also the best-est (sue me for making that word up) friends I could've ever ask for.
Love you lots!
 
P.S. Stay tuned for a lot more update posts to come - including my first London graduation ceremony (as an attendee) and a beautiful castle.
 
xox
 
//
 
Min syster och min kusin besökte mig här i London för ett par veckor sen. De var här över helgen (Mona var här lite längre), och vi hade det så himla bra! Det var Mirriams födelsedagshelg (måste hitta bild på mig och henne där vi inte har på oss träningsleggings eller myser med katten).
Vi var på rooftop gardens (riktig fail), en massa söta cafén, oxford street, en trampolinpark och såklart min absoluta favorit; notting hill, där vi tog en massa bilder.
 
Sist vi tre var iväg tillsammans var i Paris för ett par år sen, och den resan kommer föralltid att vara en av mina favoriter. Jag är så himla lyckligt lottad att jag inte bara är släkt med dessa filurer, utan de är också de bästa vänner man någonsin skulle kunna ha.
Älskar er!
 
P.S. håll utkik efter en massa fler updateringar här som inkluderar min allra första London examensceremoni (inte min egna såklart) och ett vackert slott.
 
xox

» MOVING TO LONDON - THE LOW DOWN

 
I arrived in London during a cold but sunny Sunday afternoon in March. The Friday before that, I had my final exam for the course I was taking - super stressful. So I only started packing my bags on that Friday night.. Lucky for me, my dad decided to come with me because of the whole moving to a new country thing, so I could pack some of my things in his suitcase (= pretty much all of it was mine).
 
The weekend before, I had met up with friends for a goodbye lunch (or was it dinner?). And on Friday I hung out with my family. My sister was still in Poland so I knew it would be difficult for our parents to have us both an airplane away.
 
I didn't cry. I was so nervous and so afraid, but also very excited about this new chapter of my life. I needed it at the time. I needed to live on my own and grow stronger, more independent and more sure of what I really want in life, which is how I'm leaving London - with a lifetime's worth of experience and adventure (more about that later).
 
I remember when my dad told me he had decided to come with me to London, for just a few days until I get settled in. At first I got upset - was I not old enough to do this move on my own? Did he not trust me?
In retrospect, yes I could've done the move on my own, but him being here was calming and helped make the move go smoother. I'm so so happy he came with me.
 
I had breakfast with my mom that Sunday morning. My last Sunday in the house for a few months (little did I know that I would be back for a weekend in April). 
That's when I got cold feet, but I kept telling myself that it was my decision to come to London, so I have to deal with it. One minute I was happy, and the next I was questioning my decision. 
My mom and brother, who btw was shorter than my dad when I left but is a head taller now (imagine my surprise when he came to visit me here a few weeks ago), drove us to the airport.
It felt like the plane barely left the ground when we landed in London. 
Luckily I've got cousins here, that picked us up from the airport. I never thought I'd get along with either one of them, but now I can't imagine not being a 2 min walk from Mirriam (and Hugo!).
 
It's strange how life can take you through so many different paths, through so many ups and downs, and in the end, you end up doing your internship at a lab in the uni next to your cousins house - who happens to find you a flat super close. Life is full of surprises, and I'm so ready to take on whatever is next on this increadible journey.
 
Thank you guys for being a part of it ♥
 
//
 
Jag landade i London en kall men solig söndagseftermiddag i mars. Fredagen innan hade jag min sista examination för kursen jag läste - väldigt stressigt. Så jag började packa mina väskor samma fredagskväll.. Som tur är, bestämde sig min pappa för att följa med mig pga flytten till ett helt nytt land, så jag packade en del av mina saker i hans resväska (= typ hela väskan var min).
 
Helgen innan flytten träffade jag mina vänner för en farväl-lunch (eller var det middag?). Fredagen spenderade jag med min familj. Min syster var fortfarande i Polen så jag visste att det skulle bli jobbigt för våra föräldrar att vi båda skulle vara ett flygavstånd bort.
 
Jag grät inte. Jag var så himla nervös och så rädd, men också väldigt taggad över att starta ett helt nytt kapitel i mitt liv. Jag behövde det då. Jag behövde få bo ensam och växa upp, bli starkare, mer självständigt och säkrare på vad jag vill, och det är exakt så jag kommer lämna London - med så mycket erfarenhet och äventyr som kommer räcka mig en hel livstid (mer om detta senare).
 
Jag minns när min pappa berättade att han skulle hänga med till London ett par dagar, bara tills jag gör mig hemmastadd. Först blev jag lite sur - var jag inte tillräckligt gammal för att klara av detta själv? Litade han inte på mig?
I efterhand tänker jag att visst, jag hade klarat av flytten själv, men det var så skönt att ha honom där. Det gjorde så att allt gick smidigt och jag är så glad att han följde med.
 
Jag åt frukost med mamma på söndagsmorgonen. Min allra sista söndag i huset på ett par månader (jag visste inte att jag skulle komma tillbaks valborgshelgen i april). Det är då jag fick kalla fötter, men jag försökte intala mig själv att det var mitt eget beslut att flytta till London, så jag måste kunna hantera det. Ena stunden var jag glad, och nästa började jag ifrågasätta mitt beslut. 
Min mamma och bror skjutsade oss till flygplatsen - min bror som för övrigt var kortare än min pappa när jag åkte är ett helt huvud längre än honom nu (kan ni fatta hur chockad jag blev när jag såg honom när han och mamma besökte mig för ett par veckor sen?). 
Det kändes som att flyget knappt hade lyft när vi landade i London.
Som tur är, har jag kusiner här som hämtade oss från flygplatsen. Jag trodde aldrig att jag skulle komma överrens med dem, men nu kan jag inte tänka mig att inte vara en 2 min promenad från Mirriam (och Hugo!).
 
Det är så himla kul hur livet kan ta dig igenom så många olika vägar, genom många backar och i slutändan hamnar man i ett labb i ett universitet vid sin kusins hus - som också råkar hitta dig en lägenhet jättenära. Livet är fullt av överraskningar, och jag är så jäkla redo att se vad som väntar i denna fantastiska resa.
 
Tack för att ni är en del av den ♥

» MY 5 FAVORITE THINGS ABOUT LONDON

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Because I've been here for a few months, I have a few favorite things about the city.
Here are my 5 favorite things about London:
 
1. There are always cool markets around town. Hello Portobello and Camden!
2. You can walk down some street and then stumble upon some super cool monuments. Like the old castle (?) around S:t Paul's (does anyone know what I'm talking about?). Basically, you can see how the old and the modern collide. And it makes everything THAT much cooler.
3. Free museums! Seriously, why isn't this a thing everywhere? 
4. The constant hustle and bustle that at times, makes you feel so alone, but mostly it makes you feel like you're part of the bigger picture. Like there's something important happening in every corner of the city - and you're part of it.
5. The chime of Big Ben telling the hour. Seriously guys, is there anything cooler than Big Ben? That entire area is gorgeous and you can literally just sit by the river for hours.
 
What are your favorite things about London?
xox,
Laila

» SOFT SERVE SOCIETY

 
 
Let's take a moment to appreciate the beauty that is the ice creams featured above.
Thank you.
 
I had the perfect Friday afternoon yesterday. I went to meet up my cousin after work and we got the rental bikes to go to an ice cream place we both wanted to try in Shoreditch: Soft Serve Society. 
I love Shoreditch in general. It's so hipp and cool with all the graffiti and the mini shops. 
I got black cone, vanilla and charcoal ice cream (coconut that is mixed with charcoal to give it the color), while she went for the calorie bomb deliciousness with cotton candy.
 
We then hopped on the bikes again and cycled all the way back home (she lives a 2 min walk from me, so I basically live in her house).
Biking in London is seriously amazing, but I would probably take a wrong turn and get hit by a car if I did it by myself since I tend to gravitate towards cycling on the right side (like normal people, sorry Londoners). We went past Victoria Park and Olympic stadium (which is one of my fav places in London), before we dropped the bikes and walked the last bit home for dinner, cat cuddles and a Harry Potter marathon.
 
xox
 
//
 
Jag hade en helt perfekt fredagseftermiddag igår. Jag mötte upp min kusin efter jobb och vi hyrde cyklar för att gå till ett glasställe som vi båda har velat prova i Shoreditch: Soft Serve Society.
Jag älskar Shoreditch överlag. Det är så hipp och coolt där med all graffiti och små butiker.
Jag valde svart strut till vanilj och kol glass (det är kokos som de har blandat med kol för att få till den där färgen), medan hon valde den läckra kaloribomben med sockervadd.
 
Sen hoppade vi på cyklarna igen och cyklade hela vägen hem (hon bor en 2 min promenad bort, så jag typ bor hemma hos henne).
Att cykla i London är helt underbart, men jag hade säkert tagit fel vändning och blivit påkörd av en bil om jag hade cyklat helt själv för jag cyklar gärna på höger sida av vägen (såklart). Vi cyklade förbi Victoria Park och Olympic stadium (ett av mina favoritställen i London), och sen lämnade vi av cyklarna och promenerade sista sträckan hem för middag, kattmys och Harry Potter maraton.
 
xox

» DENIM ALL DAY

 
 
That's the denim jacket I've been living in all summer. It's a thrifted oversized Levi's that I found in *drumrolls* Portobello Road Market (across the street from the food stalls - amazing denim jackets!).
 
Guys I'm so gutted about leaving London in 2 weeks.. Let's not even talk about packing. How am I supposed to fit my life in those suitcases?
 
xox
//
 
Detta är jeansjackan jag har haft på mig hela sommaren. Det är en second hand, oversized Levi's som jag hittade i *drumvirvel* Portobello Road Market.
 
Jag är så ledsen över att jag kommer lämna London om 2 veckor.. Låt oss inte ens prata om packning. Hur är det meningen att jag ska få plats med mitt liv i mina resväskor?
 
xox