» 249

 Walking down the beautiful streets of Singapore
 
Today I turn two hundred and forty nine months; 21 years old. 
I went back in the archive to read my old birthday related posts, and I've had a good laugh. I was sixteen when I started blogging, so imagine how my posts were like back then? Everything seemed to be so much easier, but doesn't it always? I mean, while we're growing up, we don't feel like the 'age' we're in is easy, but comparing it to previous years, the answer is almost always that it used to be easier a year ago. Easier in terms of school, friendships, thoughts, and the list can go on.
 
Even though 21 isn't necessarily old, I feel like we're in a rush to accomplish a lot of things at a young age. If we haven't accomplished everything we would've wanted to at a certain age, it brings a lot of stress to the number, which ends up making us feel much older than we are. But despite not having accomplished everything I've planned to (yet), this is an interesting year for me. It's turning out to be a year of life-changing choices, new oppertunities and new adventures, and I can't wait to see what I'll next year is going to bring.
 
Stay tuned for more birthday related posts.
xox,
Laila

» SIXTY

Picture from the birthday party celebrations for uncle L
 
Yesterday was a makeup-experimenting, party attending, study cramming kind-of-day. And I had a blast.
On a serious note though, I'm the queen of procrastination. Instead of studying, I've been (for the past hour) reading how-to study guides on random sites. I've spent more time trying to figure out the perfect setup, lighting included, than to actually study. I've even moved an armchair from the living room into my room. Everything for comfort, right?
Let's just hope it actually works. Can this year be over and done already?
 
xox,
Laila

» DIARY OF A CONCEALER HUNTING GIRL

 
You know when you've been studying endlessly, and then you take a break and find yourself putting various (random) things in your cart (on more than one sit, I should add) and remembering how you desperately needed that one concealer a couple months ago but your shade was out of stock? It happened to me. 
 
I've been obsessed with concealer - it's unreal. For skin concealer, I'm in love with the MAC pro longwear, but for my under eyes, I'm not so sure yet because I find that the pro longwear is too thick. That's the story about how that concealer and highlighter duo (wrong use of words, shoot me..) found their way into my cart. As for the foundation, Asos don't bring in the Bourjois healthy mix serum.. So I'm praying that this L´ORÉAL one is as good (and the right shade for me). The struggle is real, people.
 
What are your favorite foundations and concealers?
xox,
Laila

» OUT IN THE BLUE

Langkawi, July 2015
 
There's something very soothing about the ocean. The sound of the waves, the wind and the interaction between the two is very calming.
 
Maybe because humans have always found something healing about water, something transformational, religious even. Maybe it's implanted in our DNA to find inner peace whenever we hear the sound of the waves, or smell of the ocean. Maybe the rythm of the waves hitting the shore makes us think about breathing, and let that one thought consume us until we can't think of anything else.
 
Could that be the reason why people exercise close to the sea? Or why we take long showers and baths whenever we feel stressed? Or maybe even why we always insist on having a room with an ocean view when we're on holiday?
 
I'm not sure of the answers, but I can tell you this; if the ocean makes you find your inner harmony, embrace it. Because you might want to re-live that feeling.
 
xox,
Lailamy