» A DROP IN THE OCEAN

One word - perfection.
 
Add four seasons (soon-to-be-five) of 90210 to this, and that's me studying - in a nutshell.
I simply can't study or do anything productive when I'm concentrating at only one thing. Weirdly, that's something I recently discovered  - the need to multitask at most times. Hopefully I'm not the only one having weird study habits - being weird together makes it more okay, doesn't it? 
If not, it makes something dreadful seem more fun.
 
 
For now, to keep this post somewhat decent to publish,
I wish you all a good night and a productive day.
xox,
Laila
 

» MY WEEKEND IN ONE PICTURE

Making life-long plans and studying is what my weekend has been about - and a wedding. 
 
As the day is slowly getting cloudier,darker and preparing for the upcoming storm, and as leafes are hitting my window, I was thinking about a beautiful and very well-needed quote. Perhaps something to get me through the week.
 
"Be like the flower that gives its fragrance to even the hand that crushes it".
- Imam Ali (As)
 
 
Instagram picture from the weekend.
 
Oh, the sound of wind! There's something very soothing about it. Very cliché since this storm is supposed to be dangerous - flights and trains were cancelled.. 
xox,
Laila
 

» EID MUBARAK, STOCKHOLM AND UPDATES

I'd like to wish my eid-celebrating readers a very late, and very happy eid mubarak. I hope you all had a wonderful eid with your loved ones.
 
I haven't been blogging for the past week because of exam-studying and a family weekend in Stockholm for my cousins engagement - all the happiness for the lovely couple!
And I might not blog until the end of my exam, which is next week - stress on a whole new level!
 
To make up for the lack of blogging, I shall (hello ancient English) share some Instagram pictures.
 
Eid dinner, celebrated at my aunties house. Surprisingly, I wore some colors! 
On our way to Stockholm - a six hour car ride. Oh the joy!
Yes, that's my sunglasses and candy-necklace.. Am I the only one that never really enjoyed them?
Helping out with the engagement favors. They were cute!
 
I hope you're all well and studying for the upcoming exams.
May the odds be ever in our favor (cheesy book/movie line - I know).
xox,
Laila
 

» FOR THE LOVE OF LAYERING

One of the things I absolutely love is layering necklaces - or any jewellry. They pull together, add an instant wow-factor and personality to any outfit.
 
But when done wrong, they bring everything down - I've had my fair share of wrong pairings; never again!
Practice makes perfect, isn't that what they say?
 
FOR THE LOVE OF LAYERING
 
FOR THE LOVE OF LAYERING by llalila featuring red rhinestone jewelry
 
The necklace on the left top caught my eyes because of the edgy spikes and the adorable tiger/lion/animal. To emphasize the spikes, I added another spike necklace.
 
The necklace on the left bottom is beautiful, but very 'empty'-looking.Too keep the sofistication going, I didn't want to add anything too bulky. Adding the red necklace pulled the look together because of the red thread going through the other one. 
 
One thing I always keep in mind when layering statement pieces is to keep the necklaces within the same color theme. 
 
Will you be layering your necklaces?
xox,
Laila
 

» BUCKET LIST

Since I'm in the need of major inspiration, I created a bucket-list-movie of things I'd love to do and things I've already done.
 
It was surprisingly fun to make - more effort and time will be put in if you like those types of posts.
Enjoy! ♥
 
The pictures and the song are not mine.
 
What's on your bucket list?
xox,
Laila
 

» ANOTHER CANDLE IS LIT

As I was walking past my old High School to go to the library this past friday (life story, I know), I couldn't help but notice that the flag outside the school was at half-mast.
Considering that I'd previously been told that one of my old teachers was very ill, I made the connections hoping that I was wrong, but sadly, I wasn't. She had passed away.
 
Today, there was a memorial held in the HS, and as I was walking through the doors with my old classmates, everything seemed to be the same but still very different. 
The school - more than one year later - hasn't changed visually, but it felt very different. Sitting in the auditorium didn't feel right - I didn't belong there anymore.
 
I've (we've all) moved on to another chapter, which is exactly what HS was; a stop along the way to a greater destination. 
The tragedy that gathered us today made me realise that - isn't that a somewhat bigger tragedy?
 
 
Picture from my Instagram.
 
She was a great and very loved teacher.
May her soul - and the souls of our loved ones - rest in peace ♥
 

» HOT GOSSIP

I went to the MAC counter the other day to pick up a concealer and ended up with this pretty lipstick too!
Since they had a 10% offer at Åhléns and since I needed a pink-ish lipstick, because too my surprise, I don't own an everyday pink lipstick, I thought I'd give this one a try. 
 
It feels very creamy on my increadibly dry lips and is the perfect pink - very buildable as well.
Although it looks very boring in the tube and nothing I'd ever notice if I were to pick up a lipstick shade without any help, it brightens up my face and pulls everything together.
 
My sister actually complimented my makeup yesterday (which is what I've worn for the past month or so) - being her, that's something huge! 
 
MAC lipstick in Hot Gossip
It's pretty and it's pink - and it brightens up my face.
 
I'm not sure if it's my absolute favorite lipstick, but it's deifinitely getting there.
xox,
Laila
 

» FLAWLESS BASE

My skin has been acting very dry and looked flaky underneath the long loved Maybelline FIT ME foundation with or without multiple layers of moisturizer. But this story has an happy ending; I stumbled upon this foundation in my sample box and went for the full version.
It's the Max Factor Facefinity All Day Flawless foundation!
 
It lasts all day, my face doesn't look flaky or shiny and I barely use any powder on top! (which might be because of the newly found dry patches on my face, but still!).
 
I don't use it as a concealer (because of my unconditional love for MAC pro longwear) and don't use
primer as often as I used to. Yes, it's that good!
 
 
I simply love it!
xox,
Laila
 

» BANANA ON MY FACE

Due to a certain skin product/brand that I won't mention the name of, my skin went out of control and I was left with blemishes. Once I regained the control of it, I was left with some scarring. 
Since I've tried a ton of products, I thought that I'd give some natural remedies a go, which explains why I'm typing this post with banana skin on my face.
 
You basically rub the peel of a banana on targeted areas of your face (on cleansed face), until the peel gets brown, and repeat a couple times a day - I'm leaving it over night.
It's supposed to fade scarring, tighten skin and fight acne - sounds too good to be true, right? It's even supposed to lighten the skin on elbows and knees! 
 
I'm giving this a go for a couple weeks and I'll see how it goes.
Now I need to plant a banana tree.
 
Quick tip: if you haven't tried rubbing the peel of a banana on your plants; give it a go and they'll shine!
Would it work for hair as well?
Picture from here.
 
xox,
Laila