» TWENTY FOURTEEN IN PICTURES

 
I came back from Scotland the 31st and celebrated new years eve with my family.
 
A trip to the capital for my friends engagement in February. Rainy Stockholm.
 
It was all about the 'fika' in March. 
And family in April.
 
Our party corner for my sisters birthday in PJ's in May.
 
The beginning of many weddings - May-June.
Bachelorette party and tons of weddings in June.
New beginnings and white paint.
 
PARIS with my loves. It was the best trip of my life. 
The Charmed ones in Paris - el oh el (read as lol).
 
The time we met Teddy in Paris.
 
 
Makeup finds in Paris.
My birthday cake in September. It was celebrated with a spa-day and sleepover. Fun times.
 
Addiction to dark lips in October. 
Need I say more? November.
 
I'm still in love with these babies.
 
More makeup addiction.
 
My dad turned fifty.
 
More birthdays in December.
 
Holiday baking and Christmas celebrations in December.
 
 
Thank you all for making my year wonderful. I love you guys!
Happy New Years.
xox,
Laila

» CELEBRATING IN COLOR

 
Yesterday I hit up the streets of Malmö - haha. As my sister puts it, when we don't find any clothes, we turn to dress up our faces. I've gotten sooooo much makeup during the sales, it's insane. 
Since Matas is closing up, they were having 50 % off everything. Sadly, I put the trip to the store off until yesterday, which means most of the things were sold out. Mascaras included. So I walked out with the goodies above. 
 
I don't usually splurge on high end makeup products - beauty products aside. But I couldn't resist grabbing these beauties above. Blushes from Dior in 566 Brown Milly and 889 New Red, and lipsticks from Chanel in 45 Caractére and 117 Magnolia. I'm so excited to try these out today. Mainly because they packaging is adorable, and because I don't own makeup products from either brand. 
 
I also got an eyeshadow stick and a color correcting concealer, but I'll include them in another post.
Let's pray that these products won't disappoint. Also, do you want a New Years eve outfit?
xox,
Laila

» THE TIME WE SAW ASCIA

Can you see the snow, falling?
 
It was freezing in Copenhagen on Monday, but we had decided to take the train into the city and shop till we drop the day before - I just had to type that. On Sunday, when we had decided to head to Cph to shop - because let's face it, we didn't find anything in stores here - we learned that Ascia was coming to Denmark. For those of you who don't know her, she's a blogger from Kuwait - and I absolutely love her. And you must be living under a rock. Me and my sister laughed saying that if we would run into her, we would talk.
 
Going in and out of stores, trying on everything we laid our hands on - and going out with only one shirt, but our failed shopping attempt is another story. In the midst of our seven hour walk and the freezing cold, we crossed roads with Ascia. I stared - like crazy - and told my sister, who also stared like crazy. We were two crazy stare-ers (new word to the Oxford dictionary). And we were all (me, my sister, Ascia and her husband) going the same direction.
Did we talk to her, you might think. No, we didn't. 
 
Mainly because we didn't want to run after her, calling her name with the top of our lungs. That would've been embarrassing - really embarrassing. And because her face was all bundled up in her scarf, and she was walking with her head down, so there was no eye contact. Also because what would we get from saying hi, awkwardly. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love her style - and blog for that matter. But I wouldn't run after her just to say hello. I mean I wouldn't try snapping a selfie, because we all know how that would turn out - disaster is a better word to describe it.
I've grown since I was fourteen and literally ran after this singer (whom I don't even listen to anymore) just to get a picture. I still have that picture, and I look like I've been running a marathon prior to that picture - which you could almost say I had. Sad times. And I'm not re-living that again.
 
So it was freezing in Copenhagen, and we saw Ascia.
And now I've written a full blogpost about it.
xox,
Laila

» MERRY CHRISTMAS 2.0

 
Oh, I can spell my name. That was just my instagram name (haha life is exciting).
 
Today has been great. It started out with a snapchat from my sister (who literally is a few meters away), showing me the FML weather - I had to run to the closest window to check (about half a meter away. Again with the drama). Seriously though, when did the snow start falling?
But on another note, that's a good thing. I mean, global warming, anyone?
 
We ended up holiday baking with the cousins, and obviously food tasting - fun times, and tons of gossip included. Oh and I forgot to add the driving around to tons of places trying to do the last minute food shopping. Everything was sold out.
 
That wraps up my day. 
Love,
Laila 

» MERRY CHRISTMAS

We chose to decorate with the most random things. Gingerbread included. (I totally changed the picture)
 
I wish you all a merry christmas and a happy new year - wow, that sounds so standard.
 
For the last couple of weeks, I haven't really allowed myself to publish the few (should be added) posts I've written. Mostly because I, sometimes, can come across as a very harsh, judgemental person - with very strong opinions. And I get it; I have strong opinions, which most of the time isn't a great thing. But I believe that - or I'm trying to - when, or if, we use our flaws correctly, they can become an asset. Wow I really sound odd, don't I?
For the upcoming year I can promise you this; I will give you the most raw, unedited version of myself - weird thoughts included. I want my blog to really live up to its name - yup, still lame.
 
On another note, I really do wish you guys a merry christmas (and obviously a happy new year).
Love,
Laila
 
Update: snow decided to show up. In case anyone was dreaming of a white christmas - I'd rather dream of a white-beach-palm-tree kind of christmas.

» ALMOND MILK

 
The difference when adding a filter to your pictures. I'm finally using my camera.
Which one do you prefer? 
 
Good morning!
I woke up feeling inspired to make myself delicious breakfast - it's Friday! And I ended up making semolina pudding (totally googled the name) with almond milk. I've never tried it with almond milk, but it actually turned up good - no difference from regular milk, and it's supposedly better for you.
 
A lot of studying is what I'm planning to do today, and having tea. 
Have a lovely Friday!
xox,
Laila

» CHAI-FIE

I think I get too happy with the editing programs (iPhone picture)
 
Get it? Chai selfie = chai-fie. I'm brilliant, I know.
I've been craving chai latte for about a week now, and today I decided to take care of that craving. A big chai latte, please - with cinnamon and cardamom.

Uni has been very hectic - even if I absolutely can't stand lectures (bad habit), it's still overwhelming. Which means that, sadly, I can't make the blog a priority. Hopefully I'll be able to change that and do better planning during christmas break, when the first part of exams are over (next part is after christmas break - so cruel). 
 
For now I'm all about gallons of water, books and Charmed (favorite tv show ever, and I can't study if I'm not doing something else too).
 
 
Is there anything you want me to write more about?
xox,
Laila

» CELEBRATING LIFE

 
I've delayed writing this post for many reasons. But as many the reasons for me not to write it, I promised myself to be honest on the blog - it is, after all, my land of escape.
 
I lost my grandfather two years ago, and knowing myself, I wrote a very dramatic post about it at that time.
Today I choose to celebrate his life by living mine. It is after all what he would've wanted, as life brought him so much joy.
 
By living our lives, trying to accomplish certain thing or even study harder, we are celebrating the lives of our beloved ones whose souls are no longer with us. I will always smile when thinking of my dear jiddo (Arabic word for grandfather), and whenever I'll see a flag, I'll sing 'ay darafsh' (a persian child poem - we sound very international) from the top of my lungs.
 
I also promise to never take anyone I love for granted, life has taught me that. Because we really don't know when we lose them for good.
 
Love, 
Laila

» MOONLIGHT

When you try snapping a picture of the moon, it never looks good. The beauty of it can't be captured. 

As I've been struggling to fall asleep this week, today was no exception. Instead of tossing and turning, I made it down the stairs (sounds like ten thousand stairs. Fifteen). While I was walking down (fifty thousand), I noticed a blue sheen lighting up my way. Little did I know that the moon was watching over me (drama). So simple, yet so majestic. Beautiful creation. 

The moon made my day (night). 
And now I shall make another attempt on falling asleep. 
Goodnight loves,
Laila

» APOCALIPS BY RIMMEL

 
I'm very late (with an emphasis on very) with reviewing these (considering I got them last year!). Better late than never - should be coming from the never-posting-blogger-wannabe, haha.
 
Lately, I've been into lipsticks. This could be because I honestly can't bother cleaning my makeup brushes, so lipsticks and layers of mascara are my new go-to's (sounds so fancy).
These lipsticks/lipglosses/lip-heavens are by Rimmel, and they are ah-mazing! 
They're a mix of lipstick and lipgloss, which means that they are super pigmented, they don't dry or crack your lips and they stay on beyond eating. What more could you wish for in a lip product? 
 
Although, I have to point out that I always use them with a lip pencil, they're still amazing. And that I might not use the fuschia color as much.
 
 
 Apocalips in 303 Apocaliptic and 101 Celestial
 
Have you tried any good lip products recently?
xox,
Laila

» FIFTY

My daddy turned fifty(!) this weekend! Being one of the most inspirational people in my life, I can't describe the happiness when he walked into his (small) surprise dinner gathering. Due to other things going on in our lives, we decided to keep it small and very last minute, as we planned the whole thing in two days. It was hectic and included a lot of (white) lies to keep the surprise, well, a surprise. Totally worth it.
I've actually - for once - snapped pictures using my camera. But as I'm writing with an intense headache (and an exploding brain), I'll upload those pictures later on this week.
For now, God bless Instagram.
 
xox,
Laila