» I'M FEELING 22

 
Thanks Tay (as if we're BFF's) for making this song - kind of my anthem (kind of kidding).
I'm 22. My mom had me when she was 22. Tick tock.
All jokes aside, I'm so thankful for so many things, and couldn't ask for more.
So I'll keep this short.
 
As many of you, I have fears. I'm scared of sharks, deep oceans (hence the sharks), knives, insects, etc.. But the only way to deal with our fears - and actually overcome them, we need to face them. Right in the eye, literally.
Last Friday (the day of my bday) I was surprised at lab when I got handed a locus (insect). I got even more terrified (hands shaking kind of terrified)  when it was moving, trying to escape the little container..
As it was a full day lab, I would be spending the entire day with a few locuses.. Yay. And we were told to not let them escape. Yeah right, I thought. As if I'd even touch them.
Fast forward a couple hours, I'm not gonna lie as I was still very terrified. But I had managed to touch it, and even hold it. Me, holding an insect. Surreal.
 
Moral of this story, we should strive to face our fears, to step out of our comfort zones, because that's when things get pretty extraordinary.
Let's empower each other. 
We should all smile a lot, travel more, work with something we absolutely love, and take control over what scares us. Let's start by changing the small things.
 
Sincerely, 
A fearless (-ish) 22 year old.