» THETRUTHABOUT - LOVELY STRESSFREE MORNINGS

With school coming up (some of you have already started), stress is a guarantee. Snoozing 15 minutes more than usual seems like a great thing when you press the snooze button - but it will cause a hectic morning! And usually, the whole day will be ruined..
 
So, I want you to go to your closet, pick out a cardigan you LOVE and that you can wear with everything. Pick out a shirt/blouse to wear underneath and top it off with your favorite pair of jeans. To all the hijabis - opt for your favorite patterned scarf (well, I love patterned scarves LOL). Makeup isn't needed, but if you're like me - skip your moisturizer and go for a BB cream (like Garnier's). Conceal only if it's really needed, use a lipstick as a blush and to put on your lips and finish off with brown (for natural) or black (or why not completely natural lashes?) mascara!
 
 
LOVELY STRESSFREE MORNINGS
 
LOVELY STRESSFREE MORNINGS by llalila featuring max factor mascara
 
Cardigan - H&M. Blouse - try Gina Tricot. Scarf - try Lindex or Kappahl. Bag - any bag will do, but a similar one can be found at Aldo or Accent
 

» THE SHARP KNIFE OF A SHORT LIFE

A song that had been replayed a lot yesterday - and today (!). I love her very simple look and fairy-like voice = it's a great song! ♥
  
 

» FACE CANDY

I received a facial gift card on my graduation (from my uncle - he knew I wanted it badly hahah) and got my first facial (ever) today!

My skin was in need of it and it's so smooth! I'm afraid to touch it hahah.. The pores are gone, it looks great - BUT it's quite red.. The lady said that it would be a bit red afterwards - but will gradually fade. The downside is that I can't wear any makeup on my face today.. Other than mascara and eyebrow pencil.. And lipstick/gloss - but that will only highlight the redness in my face.. (unless it's nude).

So from now on, hopefully, I'll be going to the clinic frequently - to get rid of some scarring (stubborn spots) I've got. Will see how that goes!

In the meantime, the lady was so sweet and gave me a bunch of products to try out - since I'm in the market for new skin care products (mine are drying my skin out..).

What's your favorite skin care product? X


» I'M ALIVE!

Celine Dions "I'm alive", anyone?
Anyways, I AM alive! Had my first driving class today; last time I drove was about two months ago - with my daddaayy and uncle! (I'm officially hyped up!).

The driving class went good! Minus the fact that I had to wake up early.. The class is at 8 tomorrow.. Kill me please!

So yeah, I won't cause any danger to the streets in my beloved Malmö! :D


» THETRUTHABOUT - FIRST IMPRESSION

Who are we trying to fool when we say that the first impression isn't about the looks? Ok, it's not completely about how you look - you have to be yourself, be friendly and outgoing.. But the appearance can help with one thing or two! Or that's what I think..
 
So I put together an outfit for you guys - of what I would wear, or will wear, first day of uni. (Gahh, nervous here!)
 
FIRST IMPRESSION
 
FIRST IMPRESSION by llalila featuring zara bags
 
The pants are from Lindex (I purchased them today!) but any patterned pants will do (H&MZaraForever21 usually have patterned pants).
I don't know where the blouse is from, but H&M always have white blouses. The scarf can be found anywhere - I got a similar one from Lindex.
A cheaper dupe of the Oxford shoes can be found in SkopunktenH&MAldo (not so sure about the latter though!)..
The bag is GORGEOUS, and it's from Zara.. The charm bracelet can be found in Guldfynd (if you're looking for a "real one", but any bracelet will do). 
I got a similar ring to the one in the collage, but I got it a while ago from H&M. Look for similar rings in H&M or Forever21 (can you tell that I'm an H&M freak? LOL). 
And lastly, the nailpolish is obviously Essie. I don't usually splurge on nailpolish, so you can find a nude shade from any brand!
 

» ARMCANDY

Accessories is very important. It can dress up or dress down an outfit. If you take a LBD for an example - pairing it with a big statement necklace and killer heals, it transforms completely; from a regular LBD to a party appropriate outfit!

With that being said, I've been loving bracelets lately, specially when pairing multiple bracelets together!

PS. My bday is soon - bracelets anyone? Lol! X



» BEHIND THETRUTHABOUTLIFE

I've come to the conclusion that I like blogging. In fact, I love it! 
I can write whatever I want, and really type every thought I have. It's almost like keeping a diary; you write down every thought, every feeling, everything there - but slightly different.
 
While I was reading some blogs earlier today, I realized that the only reason (or one of the reasons) that I kept reading was because of the pictures. Bloggers post pictures of themselves on their blog - so that readers can put a face to the name. 
 
So, I think you guys deserve to know the face behind THETRUTHABOUTLIFE.
 
 
 
 

» WE ARE NEVER EVER GETTING BACK TOGETHER

I stumbled upon this song earlier today, and I like it..
 
 
Is there any current song you're obsessed with? ♥

» SECRET PROJECT

Do you guys remember (directed to my old followers) when I used to write about a secret project, that I might share with you guys?

Well, today I thought I'd share a tiny bit of it. A key word - "White Dreams". When, and IF, I ever finish the project, I will share all of it with me. Till then, I gotta be a bit mysterious ;)


» 2012

They said that everything will reach its end this year.. That we all will die.. That our planet won't exist..
I didn't believe in that - "How can they put a date to the end of the world?" I thought.
 
And here I am, with the same mentality as before, still not believing in the 2012 phenomenon but with a new belief - this year is not a good year.. There is something about this year that is turning everyones lives upside down. Heartbreaks, loss, fights, war and the list can go on. 
 
This year has frightened me enough, I've been taught life lessons, learnt by other peoples mistakes and gone through rough times with people I care about. If I could fast forward through life, I would. I want to have a sneak peak on the last chapter to see if there will be a happy ending.. But nothing you go through is for nothing, right? Or that's what I'm hoping.
 
I truly wish that your twenty-twelve is being better than mine 
XO
/Laila
 

» NEW DECOR

After going to the yearly Malmö Festival with my mom, I decided to "deep clean" my room.. And get rid of the clothes I don't use - that have been laying in the same boxes for years (I take them out every now and then to decide wheather I want them or not, and put them back haha). So that's what I've been doing this afternoon!
 
We bought some flowers for charity purposes - the money goes to charity - and then realized that the colors go with my room; so now I've got something green and blossomy!
 
The makeup I use on daily basis is on a glass cake tray, brushes moved into glass holders - along
with some cotton pads and a single Q-tip LOL! The flower photo is yellow because of an unknown 
reason.. My clothes are color coordinated, which tend to give a very shop-ish feeling and makes it
easier to find what I'm looking for
 
 
xx
/Laila
 
PS. Don't mind the previous post, I was about to delete it, but thought it'd be fun to keep it up!
 

» MONA!!!!!!!!!! :D

HI.
MONA. ROCKS!

» GROWING UP

While my sister is picking out an outfit to wear on her first day of High School (Gymnasiet), I went back in time to go through my first day.. I met the not yet 15 year old me (bday in September; school starts in August) in side bangs, long hair, eyeliner and tons of necklaces. 
 
If I could go back in time, I wouldn't change any of it. Even though the outfit - a blue and white striped shirt, which btw looked like a balloon.. and jeans - wasn't much glamorous.. I think I somehow looked like a raccoon around my eyes, which might be the reason why I haven't worn eyeliner on my waterline since. 
 
Meeting my classmates for the first time, being close to town (my HS was in the middle of the city - close to everything), dressing up for Halloween - and winning "best dressed class" for two years in a row! (no one bothered dressing up for our senior year) - late nights in the library, going to prom and graduating. I will miss those years. But everything is "bigger" now - uni! 
 
I actually look forward to discover what life has to offer now that I'm all "grown up" (?) - please! Me? Grown up?! It's a joke.. :P
 
I wish you guys an amazing first school day (to the ladies and gents in Sweden - not sure when other parts of the world start school hahah).
Remember lovelies;
 
"Be a first rate version of yourself, not a second rate version of someone else".
- Judy Garland
 

» EID MUBARAK

Eid mubarak beauties! May God grant us all Jannah in the hereafter and accept our prayers, duas and fasting.

Do you know what I found funny? I was staaaarving when I woke up today - first time being hungry in the morning this month! It's like I haven't fasted for a whole month, everything was forgotten and the daily routine started over. Coffee and breakfast!

What are your plans this lovely day? X


» IT'S A GIRL THING

I've been feeling very down and low these last few days, but a weekend of catching up with friends and a shopping day with mom has made me climb up from the ground. Friends and family really are mood-bringers (?) - new word?
 
 
Anyhow, I really have to show you guys my Eid - which is tomorrow - outfit. And I have planned a nice photoshoot featuring the outfit tomorrow - pray that the weather will be on my side :D
 
What have you lovelies been up to?
 
Picture is from here.

» THETRUTHABOUT - One in a million or one out of a million?

One in a million or one out of a million?
There are so many people in our lives that don't appreciate us and just simply take us for granted - you don't know what you have until it's gone, right?
 
The thought of losing a dear friend or anyone close is horrible, and when it happens, it's unbearable. But what do you do when someone doesn't seem to appreciate you? 
When they don't seem to contact you or take their time to ask about you in difficult times, you can't keep running after them, chasing them and asking about them. Sometimes, limits should be set to friends, even dear ones..
 
Days turn to weeks, weeks turn to months and you start wondering why they haven't taken their time to ask how you've been. That's when you should slowly let that friendship go. A person that doesn't care about you shouldn't be in your life and should certainly not be your friend. Friendship is much more than writing a text every now and then on holidays. 
 
Oh, how many girls I've seen in that seat. Wondering what they have done wrong and feeling increadibly terrible. To all of you that are going through this phase, you should know that there is nothing wrong with you. As Bruno Mars said; "You are amazing, just the way you are". And it couldn't be more true!
 
Picture is from here.

“To the world you may be just one person, but to one person you may be the world.” --Brandi Snyder

 
 

» THETRUTHABOUT - BEAUTIFUL ENOUGH?

I dedicate this post to every single girl that doesn't have the confidence to see the beauty she's reflecting in the mirror - from the inside and out.
 
If you pay attention to people that walk past you, and you make a deal with yourself that you have to find one thing you like about them, you will find more than one thing. Why? Because each and everyone of us is unique.
Imagine someone having the "perfect" nose, lips, eyes, chin, body, hair etc etc. I can guarantee you that the image of "the perfect person" (guy or girl) in my head is much different than yours. Why? Because our view upon beauty differs. 
 
The portray of beauty in magazines and TV is not beauty. Being half naked isn't beautiful, is it? Modesty and elegance is more beautiful if you ask me. But again, our view upon beauty differs. That "perfect" actress you see might be the most miserable person on earth. What's the point of her beauty then? 
 
The thing is, no one is perfect. We all lack something. And that, ladies, makes us even more special and beautiful. That weird eyebrow of yours, that doesn't behave no matter what you do to it, is gorgeous and it's making a great job framing your eyes. You see, those little imperfections lead to beauty. Don't you agree?
 
Stand in front of the mirror, look at yourself and find your beauty - inner and outer. No one should be able to bring you down or tell you that you're not good enough. You are you. Isn't that beautiful enough?
 
 

» "Surely we belong to God and to Him shall we return"

A lot has happened since last time I blogged. And I've started catching myself with thoughts about life, death and what's in between.
 
Death is near. It truly is.. We will never know when our time is coming, when we are turning into ashes - but one thing is certain; if we don't live everyday like there's no tomorrow and aren't thankful enough, we won't find peace in the hereafter. 
 
Life is too short to be playing around and making one too many mistakes. Sure, we should learn by our mistakes but;
"A wise man learns by the mistakes of others, a fool by his own"
 
I simply want to remind you guys, and myself, that we shouldn't take anything for granted. We shouldn't fight - because we never know if we won't ever see the person we just fought with again. We should be caring, respectful, loving and thankful.
 
"Surely we belong to God and to Him shall we return" Quran [2:156]
 
 

» THETRUTHABOUT - MONO WITH A TOUCH OF EMERALD

Since Eid (Ramadan is close to an end - Eid="celebration") is coming up soo, I put together an outfit I'd love to wear that day (and with a scarf on my head of course, hehe :P).
 
 
Mono with a touch of emerald
 
Mono with a touch of emerald by llalila featuring essie nail polish
 
Tweed jackets can be found at Zara or Mango; the one featured in the collage is from Mango. The necklace is from Zara and a similar top and pants can be found at H&M or Forever21. The bag is from H&M. Shoes can be found at Scorett or Bianco. The Giorgio Armani lipstick and the Essie nail polish speaks for themselves.
 
 

» YESTERDAY

Since I hate boring intros when starting a post, I'll keep this short.
 
This is what I did yesterday:
1. Had ftoor (broke my fast) at my uncle's house.
2. Sleepover at my cousins.
 
And I must say that I Instagram more than blogging - it's easier to update it..
 
 
 
 
 

» INSTAGRAM - @lalilaa

So you have all noticed that I don't update my blog very often, which is why I wanted to tell you guys about my Instagram - I'm addicted!
Aaaand I update it like crazy.
 
@lalilaa at Instagram
 
 

» BEAUTIFUL LIGHTS

Hey lovelies! I hope you guys have been well - and I haven't blogged for what feels like ages! 
That's going to change.
 
Anyways, I'm back in Sweden, dreaming about skyscrapers and fun days. If you only know how I want to go back to UAE.. But we gotta get on with our lives, right?
 
A little update about me:
I'm going to uni - a future molecular biologist! You might wonder why I won't be studying pharmacy. The truth is that it's not considered as a "good job" where I want to work - hint: another country - and they would probably not even hire me.. So I thought I'd try this - since I really like biology, and DNA = molecular biology. And if I realize that I don't like it, there's always a next year, right?
 
There are two more stuff that I'd like to share with me, and I will, later on - I feel that I've changed, literally, inside and out! (A good change, I believe..).
 
Let me know what you guys have been up to! 
xx
 
If you only knew how much I love this picture - taken by me in Sharjah, UAE