» TWENTY TWELVE

This year has taught me a lot.. There has been both happy, dull and some extremely sad moments.. 
 
Twenty twelve brought me tons of parties (wedding, engagement, birthdays), graduation (aka. studenten, woop woop), Dubaihijab (head scarf, I shouldn't necissarily call it hijab since hijab is the overall "look" - oh I will write about that in another post), uni, new friendsloss and with that grieve, and just overall difficulties. 
 
I put together some pictures throughout the year.
 
When I found this recipe (I lost it now, buhu) - I baked these to everyone.. 
The cooling from the UAE (aka Dubai) - I got him last year, but he still holds a special place in my heart
- oh the drama!
A new obsession to Chai Latte (home made). 
I got a proper brush cleaner - that I hardly ever use anymore.. 
I did a brush cleansing tutorial on le blog 
Studying for finals (high school) at the library with the lovliest group of girls
My cousin got engaged - woop woop!
My little brothers themed bday party at a childrens place (I cannot remember the name of it)..
Flower art at the long breaks at school (back in HS)
This cutie pie was adorable at my sisters bday lunch
 
Trying to figure out how to decorate the tables on my graduation party (our kitchen table was our model)
My very first MAC studio sculpt concealer - and I still think that the prolongwear concealer is way better 
Summer BBQ
PROM 
Introducing the tools - for the perfect half-updo! 
And of course the makeup I used that day.. 
Prom dress 
Food.. Pretty much disgusting 
This was yummier 
This was delicious! 
Fotoshoot - with the graduation dress at our backyard (where the party was held).. 
Decorating the truck we were going on (on graduation - cause that's how cool we are in Sweden haha)
with some classmates  
Our time to shine - graduationday 
Me (you can't see my face) on my graduation! This was the very first picture I uploaded of "myself".. 
Our tradition - a must on every single graduation (cousins make it for cousins) 
Graduation favors
The cake (Arabs need their cake, haha!!)
 
Cousins graduation (it was a double party - two cousins graduated from the same school)
Trip to Denmark with cousins and other relatives (and cousins cousins)                
Denmark
Mom got a baking fever
Summer 'fika' (if you've followed my blog for a long long time you know what it means, if not, it's basically 
coffee time)
Another graduation
And another graduation
Cute kitty cat 
Tomatoes bday
Dreaming - big time
Lunch with the lovliest grandfather - @ our backyard 
MIDSUMMER 
The palm - Dubai 
Sunbathing (unhealthy-ly - is that even a word?) at Sharjah Ladies Health Club 
Shopping at SephoraDubai Mall 
.. but you still gotta love Bin Battuta Mall (name and spelling?) 
Yummy-licious 
Love-hate Cinnabon
I started wearing headscarf (hijab) the UAE
Weird stuff going on (Reem al bawadi?) not sure where we were - @Dubai 
A lovely man passed away..  
Posing with this beautiful creature!! (And he pulls it off better than my makeup-less face..) 
Ice-cream cravings.. 
Smoothies smoothies
My cousin came to visit le family in Sweden.. And her adorable baby boy rocking these sunnies @H&M. 
Laaaaate gift-trading with friends (graduation gifts) 
Still obsessed with Gossip Girl 
 I TURNED 18! WOOP WOOP
The (disgusting) bday cake I insisted on baking.. Which is fatless..
 It was a black and white party 
 I baked the cupcakes (and they turned out to be delicious - if I may say so myself)
At a wedding event - the picture is from the fashion show.. 
The bride to be posing with her new wedding planner-book 
Iraq-Brazil game 
 Yup, that's Kaka - in flesh.. Did anyone say anything about falling in love? No? Oh well..
Life saver.. 
Getting more and more into makeup 
I got the Margiela x H&M top (for men) 
My baby got her license!! :') (I couldn't find a picture of only her driving...) 
I started to wear this ring every single day - it's from my grandfathers antique shop (that he used to own
many many years ago - and I stole the ring from my mother haha) 
I lost a very very dear person.. My grandfather - and life will never be the same without him. I love and miss
you, always and forever my dearest jiddo <3 
I dropped my iPhone - and I was stuck witht this little cutie for a couple days (or weeks) 
A very special day 
My own collar necklace (that I'm wearing as this is being written!) 
My brothers Christmas play - well done lovelies! 
Having a loooong 'fika' with these beauties (and two more that didn't fit into this picture haha) 
Playing with Nado 
Posing with my brother  
Christmas dinner with Noor and Tomatoe 
Tivoli (Copenhagen) with lovely people - a shoutout to you if you're reading this :P x 
And having dinner (or a very late lunch) with the same lovelies  
New Years Eve - possibly the worst day of the year. Rocking my fuzzy socks and chilling with some people
 
Happy New Years, my lovely readers. I wish you all a year filled with happiness, success and love. Let's hope that 2013 will be a good year!
xx
/Laila
 

» MERRY CHRISTMAS

Merry Christmas lovelies! I wish you all a wonderful holiday with your beloved ones ♥
 
Here comes tons and tons of pictures on the christmas dinner (aka. julbord in Swedish for all you non Swedish residents).
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I let the pictures speak for themselves since I'm too lazy to write an actual post haha.
xx
/L
 

» IT'S OK TO BE HAPPY

You know what I came up with?
It's OK to be happy.
It's OK to keep missing him.
It's OK to never stop hurting.
But it's not OK to keep glancing back. You should move on, and look back with a smile on your lips and a happy glow in your eyes. That's what I know he would want me to do.
 
I truly thought that being happy would make me a horrible person.. How can I possibly be happy, laugh and keep moving on with my life while he's lying underground, buried deep down far far away? How can I go out with a smile on my lips while I'm burning inside; wanting to scream out loud?
 
I then realized that all my actions - cold behavior towards the people I love, that has been supporting me and helping me through this - and thoughts were a complete opposite to what he was. To what he believed in.
So how could I be missing him, but forgetting or refusing to see what he was; what he is?
He made us all happy and he still does.. And that's what I'm going to remember and live by..
Yes, I'm still hurting. I'm still missing him. I keep forgetting that he isn't here to visit whenever I want.. But that doesn't mean that he wants to see me dressed in black from top to toe, with a sad grin on my face. And he really disliked black.. So wouldn't I be a hypocrite to miss someone and show it in ways he wouldn't approve of?
 
 
 
 
When I realized all of this today, I started Instagramming again. So these pictures were taken throughout 
the day today.
 
I hope you're having a good night, lovelies. And thank you all for the love and support - it means a lot to me; more than I could ever explain.
xx
/L
 

» IT'S NOT A DREAM AFTER ALL..

Since my grandfather passed away, I've kept in too many emotions and felt like a volcano that was about to explode - but never exploded.. It all felt very unreal - still feels very unreal, as if it never happened..
 
He got buried today, which is the same day you should pray and "send the blessings of the prayer" to him (this goes to everyone that has passed away).. I just finished praying and when I said his name, for sending the blessings of the prayer to him, something inside of me let everything explode..
 
I still can't believe that he's gone.. Even though some people keep telling me that "he was too old anyways", I still miss him.. Yes, he has lived 90 wonderful years, but does that make it easier for us when we lose a happy and inspiring person like him? No. (or as my uncle says; he was - and still is - a symbol for human rights..)
 
To some of you, this might sound odd.. That I write about how much I miss him in these recent posts.. But when you used to visit your grandfather every single day, or at least once a week - you will understand this easier.
 
Something funny happened today.. I actually caught myself humming, to a song he used to sing to us, today and almost sang it out loud! LOL to that, right? It is, and I'm half-quoting my sister, true that he still makes us laugh - even though he's gone. 
 
So I just want to say this; I will keep singing ay darafsh (a song in farsi - and it's so old that Iranian people themselves don't know it anymore..) for you, my beautiful grandfather. 
You will always have your name, engraved into my heart, and an image of you in my brain.
 
Love you, always and forever 
 
This is an extremely old picture of him, my sister and me. Handsome, isn't he? ♥
 
You know what I just came to think about? The reason behind me not realizing, or processing, what has happened  is because I haven't given myself time to mourn. I've been studying on sunday, monday and went to uni on tuesday (and today).. With no focus of course - with a test tomorrow.. IF I'm going to fail?
I should just take it easy this weekend and not do anything.. That would clear my head up a bit - I hope..

» DARAFSH = FLAG

With tears running down her cheeks, she came to tell me about the horrific news - that we all waited for in fear. He took his last breath and left this world with an angel-like glow on his beautiful face.
 
I refused to listen, and went back to sleep, but woke up an hour later to get ready to leave..
When I was walking through the door of my room, she stopped me to tell me the tragedy again. And this time I listened and after processing it, broke down in tears.
 
Who will sing us old songs in farsi? The songs that are engraved into us..
Who will run around the house, looking for his shoes, glasses and abaya?
Who will sit on the grey sofa, reading and accidentally knock the side table?
Who will eat dates and tell us the stories of his youth?
Who will be the one we always counted on for comfort, happiness and humour?
Who will show us pictures, treasured dearly in his Quran, and tell us all about them?
Who will, who will, who will..
 
I miss him. And will probably never stop missing him..
But one thing I've realized is that he will be with us - he still is with us. And I can't and will most certainly not get used to using past tense when reffering to him.
 
"I'm sorry for your loss", they say.. What loss? He isn't gone! 
But slowly you have to start realizing the truth.. His body is gone, but his pure and good soul is in a better place.
 
When losing people like him, from his generation, you will know what loss is.. Why? Because we're lucky if we become half as good, third as pure as them. Being loved by every single person is evidence to what he is, to what he was.
 
I love and miss you and your pure heart grandfather, always and forever ♥
 
"O soul that art at rest! Return to your lord, well-please (with Him), well-pleasing (Him), so enter among my servants, and enter into My garden". 
 

» BANDAGE TO MY WOUND

Or maybe not so dramatic.
I have, as I have told you guys, been absent from the blog for a couple days. I may or may not tell you guys the reason for my abcence because of it being extremely personal, and something I don't find fair or nice of me to share.
 
With this being said I just wanted to write a quick post because of you guys. You've been extremely sweet to click on my blog with the knowledge of me not blogging for this period of time. This truly spread a smile to my not-so-very happy face.
 
Take care of yourselves and your loved ones ♥
xx
/L