» LIFE

So what have I been up to these past couple of weeks?
 
Went through a horrible two-day-thing = ice-cream was my savior!
 
Watched the Iraq-UAE football game.. We lost.. 
 
Had tons (and went to tons) of family dinners/gatherings
 
Went skiing with these lovelies (and some more) - btw I WILL be killed for putting this picture up..
 
Studied
 
Ate..
 
Ate some more..
 
And ate again..
 
And I've been to my cousins engagement - congratulations for the happy couple! 
We've had a family reunion - because of the engagement (woop wopp).
I'm probably not doing YouTube (because of some mixed opinions from different people - whose opinion I respect. BUT I might be able to talk them out of it!).
I've had multiple exams..
I've been happy - still am.
I'm on my not-buying-anything month (except for products I run out of - ex. concealer, cleanser, makeup-remover, etc. since they are basically essential). But I will NOT shop - no spring wardrobe for me.. Or exiting eyeshadows..
I've signed up in a gym! Me - gym! I haven't been to a gym for almost two years.. 
 
That's a quick update for you guys. 
All the pictures above are from Instagram - I'm too lazy!
 
What have you lovelies been up to?
xx
/Laila
 

» THETRUTHABOUTLIFE AND YOUTUBE?

Say what?! - might be the expression in your heads right now.
 
Since I love YouTube, I love blogging and wouldn't mind sitting in front of a camera and talking to it like a weirdo, I thought "why not start making videos?".
Although that this decsion is not set in stone, I wanted to share this with you guys..
I've actually filmed a video and will edit it and see if I'll upload it to the tube (LOL).
 
Can you guess my topic? Haha
 
So, what do you lovelies think - will you support thetruthaboutlife on YouTube?
xx
/Laila
 

» THETRUTHABOUT - LESSONS TO LEARN?

This is life.

“Only a fool learns from his own mistakes. The wise man learns from the mistakes of others."

Otto von Birmarck
 
Life is all about the lessons, which makes me a fool. I learn from my own mistakes too.
Sometimes you need to do things on your own, to gain experience and to learn how to handle your own mistakes. You basically need to make your own mistakes in order to learn something from them..
 
We all have those horrible days where nothing goes the way we want it. But, at the end of the day, they happen for a reason - to tell us something, to teach us something.
 
So, my beautiful readers, this is what you need to do - whenever you feel that you want to burst in tears because of the horrible day you've had..
 
Cry. As long and as much as you need. But never more than that day - do not keep crying for days.
Cleanse your face. Yes, I'm still stressing about this stuff.. I know, I know - it's getting a bit frustrating. But   something need to wash those tears away! Or just splash on some cold water. Your face will thank you in the morning..
Lotion/bodybutter/perfume/bodysplash (or is it bodyspray?). Whatever you prefere in order to smell nice.
Do NOT listen to music that will make you feel worse. Never ever do that!
 
If you're staying at home:
Wear a kimono or a nice nightgown. This will make you feel like the queen you are!
 
If you're going to class/going out etc.:
Wear those really nice fitting jeans/pants of yours. Why? Because we all need to boost up our selfesteem from time to time - therefore, we all have that one item in our closet that will make us feel oh-so-gorgeous!
 
And remember, we all suffer from those days - I guess it's not difficult to realize that I had one of those today. I've cleansed my face, moisturized my body with a super spicy scent (I prefer spicy over sweet) and will head to bed in my floral kimono. A queen you say? Yes, for a day (that rhymed!).
 
Lots of love to you, lovelies ♥
xx
/Laila
 

» MURAD AND YOUNGBLOOD

My skin has been behaving extremely horrible this past month or so. I've had horrible breakouts that wouldn't go away. And if they did, they would leave a scar. 
With that being said, and to make this story short, I decided that I needed a good facial. I had a facial (Murad's Acne Treatment) in August, and should've went every six weeks, but didn't - a horrible mistake!
 
So, pretty ladies, I'd recommend you to go and have your skin properly cleansed every other month, or every six weeks - I can't stress enough about the importance of it! 
 
I went to Clair Clinic today and had the same treatment I had last time, Murad's Acne Treatment. My skin is, and feels, really clean. Let's just hope that these bumps will clear up soon - I want to leave the house with no concealer! My New Year's resolution?
 
Anyhow, I got some goodies from Clair Clinic, and I'm extremely happy - yes, I get excited from getting new products, makeup, etc..
 
Let's see what's inside this bag, shall we?
Yup, many things - I only purchased the eye cream. The other products were free - because she's 
trying to get rid of some products (the testers, which btw look really really new)..
Murad Essential-C Eye Cream. I'll do a full review of this once I've tried it out (the only thing I
purchased - I feel extremely lucky!!).
Murad Pomegranate Exfoliating Mask. It's a sample that I'll try before purchasing the whole product.
Murad Skin Perfecting Primer. To use as a concealer. Again, this is a sample I'll try before purchasing
the product.
YoungBlood pressed blush in Sugar plum.
YoungBlood mineral radiance in Splendor. This one is great for giving your face a nice glow. And it
can be used as a blush since it has four different colors (whereas one can be used as highlighter).
YoungBlood creme blush in Taffeta.
Sugar Plum - gorgeous everyday color.
Tafetta - buildable blush, nice consistancy and gorgeous pink color.
Splendor - the two colors on the right side of my hand, and the shimmer-y glow on the bottom of my
hand would look great topped on another blush, or on their own, or to add a healthy glow to my face.
YoungBlood lipstick in Bliss.
YoungBlood mineral rice setting powder in Light. (To skip my everyday powder, to allow my skin to
breathe).
YoungBlood lunar dust in Sunset
Bliss. It would look great with Sugar Plum, since I like to match my lips and cheeks. 
Sunset. This product could be used as highlight or you can dust it lightly on the areas you would get 
tanned. You could also mix it with your bodylotion/bodybutter to create a nice glow for your body.
 
 
I will try these products and let you know what I think about them!
Take care of your skin, beauties ♥
xx
/Laila
 

» BEAUTY FAVORITES OF TWENTY TWELVE

As you can imagine, I've got tons and tons of favorites of the previous year - but I can't include all of them.. So I narrowed it down to my top favorites.
 
Starting off with skincare (masks, mists, etc).
the Body Shop Warming Mineral mask. This mask has been my go-to mask for almost two years! I 
love love love it. It leaves my skin very smooth and it really cleanse it. Note to myself - I need to get a new one!
Jojoba oil - which I got from Matas (or my mom did - I kind of stole it haha!). This is amazing for your skin whenever it gets too dry - it moisturizes it and somehow heals it..
the Body Shop Honey & Oat scrub mask. I don't know if I absolutely love it yet - but I really like it.
Yves Rocher - 3 Minutes mask. This one is amazing to bring with you on the plane (if you're into removing your makeup and putting on a mask - that btw doesn't have a color to it, just a slight hint of yellow that barely shows. It's increadibly moisturizing and my skin would've been destroyed from the airplane air if it wasn't for this mask.
the Body Shop - Vitamin E face mist. Increadible for setting your makeup, easy to find (in any Body Shop) and it's moisturizing.
Evian Facial Spray. I love it more than the Body Shop mist. It doesn't have any scent to it (if you hate scents on your face like I do) and it feels amazing on your skin. I can't talk (or write) enough about it!.
THE best thing for your lips, eyelashes, undereye-area, face, hands, dry patches, etc etc. This little
guy is the BEST thing you could ever stumble upon.. Mine is from the UAE, but you can find Vaseline in
Sweden too (and any other country, as far as I know).
Now this is the only "real"/everyday skincare I've included, since I haven't found a skincare that's 
suitable for my skin yet.. It really reduces acne. You basically just pop it on a spot (I do that before going
to sleep), and you wake up with a very reduced spot - amazing!
I've got two favorite foundations and three favorite concealers..
Max Factor - Experience foundation. It doesn't break me out, it has perfect, medium to high, coverage
and a dewy finish. Need I say more?
the Body Shop Extra Virgin Minerals foundation. It's perfect for everyday basis. But keep in mind that
it doesn't come in many shades.. If you've got really really pale skin, you will not find a suitable shade
since I've got the lightest shade of it (102), and I'm not that pale..
L´ORÉAL Touche Magique concealer. Perfect for the undereye area.
MAC Pro longwear concealer. It's perfect for oily/combination skin. It's longwear, so it stays put all
day! I simply love love love this concealer.
Yves RocherUndereye concealer. Let's face it; we all have those days when we hardly get any sleep, 
and face the consequenses the next day - horrible undereye circles.. And this concealer does magic to
that, with the only downside that it might crease during the day..
Maybelline Fit Me powder. Is great and doesn't break me out (I've got really sensitive skin), which
makes it even more great. AND it doesn't look cake-y on your skin.
MACMinerelized skinfinish. I love the finish of this powder. It looks really nice and smooth on the skin
and it provides a nice coverage. But, I think that it might be breaking me out. So if you've got really 
sensitive skin - be really careful witht this product.
the Body Shop Bronzer. The best bronzer ever! I love it. It's great as a contour, blush, bronzer. It
gives you the perfect glow AND it doesn't have any shimmer to it - it's completely matte. Which I love.
This lovely pink, shimmery blush is the perfect pink blush. It's by Chanel in a shade I can't really make 
out (and I've ruined the lid).
My all time favorite eyeshadows.
IsaDora  50 Matte Chocolates. I've used this palette - more or less - every single day since the end
of 2011. It's got the perfect colors to fill your eyebrows and the perfect everyday colors (if you're into
brown shades).
Nivea Pure Diamond eyeshadow. I'ts one of the first eyeshadows I got (when I started getting into
makeup), and I really love the white shimmery shadow. It's the perfect highlight color (for your
cheekbones, browbones, etc).
Stargazer Black eyeshadow. It's the most pigmented black eyeshadow I've ever tried.. I got it from a
punk/rock shop because I wanted a really really black eyeshadow. And I absolutely love it!
Maybelline Color Tattoo in On and On Bronze. It's easy to use, it doesn't crease, it's buildable..
 
 
IsaDora Build-up Volume mascara. I've got pretty long eyelashes, but hardly any volume; which
makes this mascara perfect for me. I just love it!
Maybelline Gel liner. It's easy to use, it doesn't smudge and it's really black!
L´ORÉAL Volume Million Lashes. This one is in brown.. I was obsessed with brown mascara during 
summer, so everytime I go for a really 'natural' look, I reach for this mascara. It's really nice - and I might
get it in black too.
This last eye-product might freak you out. Even I freaked out when I realized how much I liked it!
It's the H&M - Pure White eyeliner. I use it in the innercorner of my eyes, my waterline (sometimes) and
on my browbone. I never thought I'd use an H&M product - since you really don't know what they've got
in it. But so far, so good. AND it stays put!
Dior DiorKiss lipgloss in Candy Apple. It's actually my sisters, but I LOVE the color. The product is
somewhat too sticky though - but overall, it stays on and I really like it!
MNY (Maybelline limited edition) - lipgloss in 150A (weird name). It isn't sticky and doesn't feel clumpy
on my lips - which makes it perfect. And the color is absolutely gorgeous.
IsaDora - lipstick in 124. My go-to everyday lipstick. The shade is slightly more pink than my natural 
lipcolor, which makes it the perfect 'nude' lipcolor (?).
Sephora - 3 in 1 Perfecting Basecoat. It's magic (almost). It makes the nailpolish go on smoother, and
it keeps it on longer - without chipping.
Essie Miss Fancy Pants. I like nude nails - and very simple, soft colors (most of the time). And this
color is the perfect beige-nude color. And it stays on for days (about 4-5 days) - and it only needs one
layer since it's increadibly pigmented!
IsaDora Wonder Nail in Creamy Nude. I really like the pink-nude color, it's easy to apply, stays on 
for days and it dries really quickly. But the downside of it is that you need several coats (about 3 coats)..
My current favorite perfume..
Swiss Arabian - Marhaba Million. No, it's not a dupe for One Million or Lady Million. This one is 
very very unique since I've never seen a similar perfume.. It can only be found in the UAE (and gulf 
countries - as far as I know).. It's very spicy - if you like spicy scents. And if you don't like sweet scents,
this one's for you!
I would compare the scent to Intimately Beckham by David and Victoria Beckham.. But Marhaba 
Million is more of an evening scent compared to Intimately Beckham.
Hairproducts!
got2b - Guardian Angel heat protection. We all need to protect our hair when heatstyling it! And I love
this product - and the scent.
L´ORÉALHot Curl. It's a heat protection and it keeps your curls last longer (when curling it). For 
someone that constantly curls their hair, I'd recommend trying this product - I simply love it.
Goldwell Leave in Spray. If you've got thick, long, "tangly" hair like me - you will LOVE this product.
You can actually brush your hair after using it (after showering), and it leaves it feeling soft and nice.
I need a new bottle of it..
 
 
Do you guys have any beauty favorites of 2012?
xx
/Laila
 

» SECOND DAY OF TWENTY THIRTEEN

What did I do today?
Basically nothing..
 
I watched random TV shows, changed my sheets, pulled out my books (to start studying for real) and cleansed my brushes - if they were disgusting.. How could I even use them on my face?!
 
I used to much, much better with regular brush cleansing - spot cleaning them after every use and deep cleaning them once a week (specially the foundation brushes).
So that will be one thing I'll hopefully manage to maintain this year.
 
 
Since I don't have anything interesting going on to write about, I thought I'd snap some pictures of the
brushes (before and after).
 
xx
/Laila
 

» EVERYTHING PBP

I've been loving everything plum/burgundy/purple lately. And I've been collecting a couple products from every category to get the "perfect plum/burgungy/purple" look. Let's call it the PBP (making up some words that will never be used again - I'm such a cooling haha).
 
 
These colors look very similar in the picture, but in reality the Maybelline one is darker and the Essie
one has more purple in it. Maybelline (limited edition) in 552 and Essie in Recessionista.
 
I got this lovely thing two days ago, and IF I love it?! I'm obsessed! It can be worn as a stain or as a full
on lipstick. Sephora Crush.
 
When I got this eyeshadow many many months ago, I never wore it and was regretting buying it. BUT
now, with this recent obsession of mine, it's a staple (kind of). Maybelline (limited edition) - 337. (And I
must say that I like names, and not numbers, on products - it's easier to remember!).
 
I love love love this blush. It's a PBP color and has a nice sheen to it. I'd say it's more of a satin finish 
since it's definetely not shimmery. Maybelline (limited edition) - 501.
 
Now this product is a must. It's matte - which means that you can use it everyday (if you're not into
shimmery products - but I personally don't mind if I look like a discoball haha). MACFever.
 
And some swatches. Left to right - Maybelline 337 eyeshadow, MAC blush in FeverMaybelline blush
in 501 and Sephora lipstick in Crush.
 
Do you guys have any favorite color this winter?
xx
/L