» PRAY FOR THE WORLD

 
 
"It is not only Paris we should pray for.
It is the world. It is a world in which Beirut, 
reeling from bombings to days before Paris,
is not covered in the press.
A world in which a bomb goes off 
at a funeral in Baghdad 
and no one person's status update says "Baghdad"
because not one white person died in that fire.
Pray for the world
that blames a refugee crisis for a terrorist attack.
That does not pause to differentiate between the attacker
and the person running away from the very same thing you are.
Pray for the world
where people walking across countries for months,
their only belongings on their backs,
are told they have no place to go.
Say a prayer for Paris by all means,
but pray more,
for the world that does not have a prayer
for those who no longer have a home to defend.
For a world that is falling apart in all corners,
and not simply in the towers and cafes we find so familiar."
 
I chose to share that text with you guys because I couldn't have said it better myself.
Stay safe.
xox,
Laila

» UNDER THE COCONUT TREE

 
I wish the title was accurate. But I'm under the studying cloud (estoy estudiando - where did that came from? Idk.. I'm telling you guys, I'm going mental with the amount of hours I'm spending studying.. Oh well, good things come to those who wait. And now this is getting two long).
 
Anyways, because I can't seem to get myself to post my travel diaries yet (the pictures are already uploaded, I just need to get myself to write down a few sentences), I'm giving you the raw version of my life (because it's so exciting..). There are so many exciting (apparently I don't know of any synonyms to exciting) things I'm looking forward to next year - which I can't tell you guys about because I'm too afraid to jinx it. 
 
Also, can we talk about how this year is coming to an end? It's crazy!
I am also wondering what you guys want me to write more about; life, study advice, makeup, random things?
This post has no structure, so I'm heading back to my cloud again.
 
I hope you all have a good night.
xox,
Laila

» #HMBALMAINATION

 
 
 
 
This was one of the most anticipated H&M collaborations ever - or that's how I feel.
I, like many others, have been waiting for this collaboration ever since Alexander Wang (although we didn't know it was going to be Balmain!), and when I found out it was Balmain, I wanted to get everything.. Everything..
But as the days for the release approached, I thought that I wouldn't get anything because it was very over-priced, even thought the dresses were to die for. But yesterday morning I woke up thinking, nope, I change my mind. I need to get my hands on these clothes!
 
As it was too late to physically go to the H&M store (and since people have been literally sleeping outside the store), I thought I should online shop. Big mistake. You should never shop online for an H&M collaboration. I had to wait, for hours, to get into the H&M website, as there were many people waiting.. When I finally got access to the site, and the clothes, I immediately put everything I wanted in the shopping cart, without going too crazy or breaking the bank. The black and white skirt, the top to go with the skirt and the white tee were the items I was looking forward to get. I was happy, maybe too happy, and that's when the site crashed - again. So there I was, with these items in my bag, but with no way to actually get them.
 
Can you guys guess what I did?
I waited, again. About three hours later, I got into the site, but with only one item in my cart.. Everything else was sold out. But hey, I got the skirt!
 
In retrospect I'm thinking how silly I was for going crazy. I mean, no matter how beautiful and sparkly these pieces are, they're just clothes. They won't magically make you feel a certain way. Do I really need them? No. Who does? There's more to life than pretty shoes and over-priced dresses, even if they happen to be Balmain. My point is that it is okay to get excited over clothes, video games, or whatever it might be that is being released. But it is also important to stop and think about other things. The skirt won't transform me, it won't make me happy, but it is the things we do (while wearing them) that counts. Okay, enough rambling. 
 
Is anyone else excited over the next H&M collab?
Just kidding guys - kind of.
xox,
Laila