» THE TRUTH - Twilight

I will be completely honest with you guys. I was completely and truly obsessed with the Twilight saga. Everything started when I was in 8th grade (about 4 or 5 years ago).

There is something that you can do, that I had done every single year (except one year that doesn't count since we moved out of Sweden) since I was 7 years old. "Läs fem böcker och få en" (=read five books and get one book as a gift) - I am not sure that it's exactly what it's called, bare with me.

That summer, when I read those five books and wrote a review on each and every single one of them I got to pick put a book - as a gift. I remember that I thought that the apple of the front page of "Om jag kunde drömma" (as Twilight is called in Swedish) was really cool and the story was about vampires, which was interesting at that time. The only vampire book that I can remember that I read during that time was probably Dracula - and maybe a few short, infamous vampire fiction novels - but nothing apart from that.

Twilight became a big part of my life. I later realized that Twilight was being turned into a movie and I remember that day as if it was last week. I was at the cinema with my sister and we were waiting for the movie trailers to come to an end so we could get to see the movie (I believe it was Harry Potter - but I could be wrong). That is when I saw the trailer of a story that was extremely similar to Twilight - and I realized later on that it actually was Twilight.

What I'm trying to say and what I planned to write down in short sentences, not a whole essay, is that I really like this book series. And I came to "ok-like" the movies as well. This means that I didn't like it when Stephenie Meyer released "The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner" because that meant that the Edward-Bella drama was over. This may sound odd and even a bit dramatic to you, but these novels mean a lot to me. They opened a fantasy world and I was inspired to follow a dream I've had since I was a little girl - writing. I wrote a "Twilight part 5" after the release of Breaking Dawn because I didn't want the series to reach its end.

Now, I know that I should read "The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner" so I can fall in love with another book series, and be inspired to write something beside vampires, witches and other creatures.

Hopefully I'll like this novel about Bree Tanner as much as I LOVED the story about Edward and Bella.

xx
/Laila




Comment this post here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (won't publish)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback