» THETRUTHABOUT - how to study for an exam

This is the question that most of us (students) worry about. How can we plan our time to study for an exam - and get a high grade?
I thought I'd share my own tips and tricks to help you guys reach your goals.

1. Get a planner.
This will help you plan your time so you can enjoy some spare time while you are studying. You should write down all your exams and plan how much you are to study every day, or every other day depending on when and how big your exam is.

2. Get away from Facebook.
And the Internet!
Don't we all love Facebook? And everything there have a tendency to get more interested whenever we are studying! If you're on Facebook, chances are that you will be looking through profiles, pictures or chat with friends which means that there will be less time for studying. Therefore, don't open your laptop/computer or phone (!) whenever you are studying - unless you have to make researches or write essays on yout laptop/computer. Either way, stay away from websites that might get you distracted.

3. Take notes in classes.
As much as you don't want to listen to your teachers explanation to diffractions in physics or stories about the World War 2, it is important that you pay attention and write down everything they are saying. Your teacher wouldn't talk about something that he/she doesn't find important, and therefore he/she wouldn't ask you questions about non-important things on the exam.

Go through your notes before every class; if you've written down notes about World War 2, and you're teacher is going to go through other details about that war the next day, go through your notes so you can remember it. And once you are going through the notes while studying for the exam, you'll experience "aha-moments".

4. Get enough sleep.
I didn't know that this point was important, and I thought that I could study for several hours and sleep for a couple hours. NO! Don't ignore your sleep. It is extremely important that your body is relaxed and rested and that you're not feeling tired. If you ignore sleeping, it might cause you more harm than good - even though you want to stay up and study. Your brain progresses the things you've learnt while you're sleeping.

5. Don't be hard on yourself.
Don't you all hate it when you try to solve an equation and you're brain completely freezes and you can't seem to solve that equation? Well, we all go through  that and you should keep in mind that you shouldn't be hard on yourself when it happens. 
Try solving another equation instead, or take a short break. Eat something to fill up your energy. Then you should try solving it again.

I remember when I was studying for a huge math final and had trouble solving an equation. No matter how much I tried, the answer was wrong. So I left it, went on with other questions and equations and then went to sleep. I tried solving it again the next morning and I managed solving it! The power of sleep..

6. Don't study the day before the big exam. 
You might be wondering; "is she serious? Why shouldn't you study the day before the exam?"
Well, here is my answer:
You need to relax and not be nervous as well as your brain need some 'time off'. With the "don't study the day before the big exam" I mean that you should only go through some questions or do an exam for yourself, but not try to learn new facts and so on.
This point has helped me a lot and it has worked its miracles on me. I can admit that I can't follow it everytime, because sometimes I haven't finished studying for the exam as well as I should have - we all get those days where we don't want to study. Either way, you should try this and see how it works for you.


I hope that these points might help you to get through your exams and finals!  
xx
/Laila




Comment this post here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (won't publish)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback