» TRAVEL DIARY: LANGKAWI

 
 
The flight from Singapore to Langkawi was short, and the Island (or what we could see of it from the airplane window) was gorgeous. We stayed in Langkawi for six days, and spent the entire first day relaxing at the hotel - it was well needed. The weather was nice and I spent everyday in flip flops - I don't regret it for a second. For this adventure, we rented a car, as the island is tiny and it's easier to drive around.
 
  
 
We drove to the 'Eagle Square', which is a place with a view of the sea - and obviously the Langkawi eagle and sign as a backdrop. Beautiful.
 
 
 
We went hiking at this beautiful place, that I can't remember the name of (help!), and met more monkeys. Cuties.
 
 
 
We got banans from that waterfall place, and realized how badly the monkeys wanted bananas. So that's what we did for the majority of our time in Langkawi; fed monkeys with bananas. Although it wasn't as glamorous as it sounds, because we were under attack several times..
 
 
 
'Black Sand Beach', was beautiful. Don't mind my outfit on repeat.. Or the pictures taken with my back to the camera. Apparently I thought the pictures would look more artsy if I turned my back.
 
 
This view. We drove to the highest point in Langkawi, up the mountain, and saw this. Absolutely breathtaking. Also, what isn't pictured is all the monkeys, insects and weird animal noises. So I literally stepped out of the car for 30 seconds and ran back in. No time for selfies here - sadly.
 
 
Then we drove until we found a nice beach to bathe and to take pictures. As you probably can tell by now, I'm obsessed with pictures.
 
 
Snapshots from the car.
 
 
We found another monkey species. They were more careful, and wouldn't get close to us. They also didn't want bananas. 
 
 
This little monkey was running for his life after stealing a banana from another monkey. Can you guys tell that we're easy to entertain. Seriously that was the most fun thing about Langkawi; the monkeys.
 
 
We went to this museum  and visited 'Makam Mahsuri', where they told stories (aka, you read her life story) about a legend called Mahsuri. She was accused for adultry, but she was innocent. So she had basically cursed the Island. I found these pretty flowers (White Frangipani flowers) on the ground, and picked them up to create the most awesome bouquet you'll ever see (nope, not even. But it's pretty).
 
 
Another beach we randomly found. Also very beautiful.
 
 
'The Seven Wells Waterfalls' - this place was dangerous.. It was very beautiful, breathtaking even, but so slippery. Also, there was a sign that said that if you fall or get bitten by any insect (poisonous, I might add), you are the only one responsible for it. We saw lizards, randomly falling (?) from small trees or whatever lizards do, and then crawling to another tree. They were huge. We saw huge flies, and other insects that I had never seen before, which was very cool. It somehow seemed that the higher up you go, the less monkeys you would see. Could this have anything to do with the scorpions (that live up top)?
 
 
We also went to a crocodile farm, in pouring rain, and watched a crocodile show. I don't really like animal shows, so I can't say much about it, but that's another story. Crocodiles look unreal, don't you guys think so?
 
 
We went on a little boat to a small Island around Langkawi. The boat ride was great. We saw dolphins (!), that I don't have pictures of because you know how it is with cameras and timing. And also because I didn't wanna risk dropping the camera in the ocean - at times it felt like I was gonna fly off the boat. The Island was great, until a monkey decided that it wanted to steal our things - it didn't succeed because I managed to scream and then scare everyone (humans too). So the monkey ran off to a nearby tree and continued watching us - such a creep. If you guys ever go to an Island with monkeys, make sure to NOT have food in your bags, and also, to attach all of your items to a tree. That way the little orange bandits won't find a way to steal anything.
 
 
The boat ride ended at a fish farm, where we fed fish with (can you guys guess?) FISH! So weird but very cool. We got to hold sharks and walk around the farm without falling so we wouldn't end up as fish food.
 
Sadly, I don't have pictures from everything we did on the Island, so the adventures have to end here. But what I can say is that the locals have to be some of the most kind, friendly people I've ever met. The rest of the trip was all about relaxing and driving around the Island, with spontaneous stops at cool beaches.
I would love to go to Langkawi again, someday in the future. But for now, I will live with these amazing memories.
xox,
Laila



Comment this post here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (won't publish)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback