» TRAVEL DIARY: EGYPT

 
 
I absolutely love Egypt. I feel like everyone is always happy, no matter their situation, which in turn makes everyone else (me) happy. It's so colorful, vibrant and just so goddamn beautiful (apart from all the dirt of course..). But, and this is a big fat but, it is different. Somehow, everything has changed, yet it felt like I was in a time capsul going back in time to this beautiful country. Of course everything has changed. It is less vibrant, less happy.
 
I feel like I went to Egypt for the first time when I was trying to connect with my Arabic roots. Don't get me wrong, whenever I'm there (or any Middle Eastern country for that matter), I feel very Swedish. But yet again, something in me seeks for that other part of me, which I somehow found in those countries. Well, only a small part of it was found, the rest is yet to be seeked. 
 
It's in the music, culture, language. It's in the burning sun and saltwater. It's in everything. 
I feel like people like me (lost in this world) will find pieces of themselves everywhere they look. Because isn't this why we keep traveling? 
 
xox
 
//
 
Jag älskar Egypten. Det känns som att alla alltid är glada, oavsett livssituation, vilket i sin tur gör alla andra (mig) glada. Det är färgglatt, livfullt och så himla vackert (bortsett från all förorening och smuts såklart..). Men, och detta är ett stort fett men, det är annorlunda. På något sätt hade allting förändrats, men på samma gång kändes det som att jag gått bakåt i tiden för att det var helt oförändrat. Självklart var det annorlunda. Det var mindre livligt, mindre glatt.
 
Jag känner att jag åkte till Egypten för första gången när jag försökte känna någon koppling till mina arabiska rötter. Missförstå mig inte, när jag är där (eller i mellanöstern överlag), känner jag mig väldigt svensk. Men på samma gång finns det en del av mig som letar efter just den delen som jag har missat, vilket jag på något sätt fann i dessa länder. Eller ja, bara en liten del hittades, resten måste jag leta efter.
 
Det är i musiken, kulturen, språket. Det är i den varma solen och saltvattnet. Det är i allt. 
Jag känner att människor som mig (vilsna i världen) kommer att finna delar av sig själva var de än söker. Jag menar, är det inte anledningen till varför vi fortsätter resa? 
 
xox



Comment this post here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (won't publish)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback