» LEAVING LONDON

My girls surprised me with these super cool balloons. How cute?!

My flight was at 8:30 PM on a Monday from Gatwick.
The days leading up to my flight were very emotional. We had a sleepover with Charlie (the cool blue haired scientist/journalist that I met at lab), hung out with Hind (fellow coffee addict who also doesn't mind her coffee getting cold for the sake of cute pictures) and said bye to a few other people. 
Mirriam and I decided that if we cried a few days before my departure, we wouldn't be as upset on the day. It kind of worked. Kind of.
 
I started packing my bags on Saturday. I don't know why I'm always so last minute with packing. And I realized last minute that not everything would fit in my 3 bags + hand luggage, so I left some for Mirriam to bring when she came to see me (a few weeks ago - more about that weekend later bc I was still paying for it in the form of a super long and annoying cold for weeks after).
 
On Saturday we just hung out in the area, went to Westfield, got everything I needed basically. And on Sunday we also decided to stay relatively close so we had dinner at Nando's and went to Olympic Park - and ended that day with milkshakes at Tinseltown (best milkshakes ever!) and movies + packing bc I was so last minute. On Monday I was carrying everything I didn't need/didn't want to throw away from my flat to Mirriams house (a 2 min walk). So I went back and forth many times. I also remembered last minute that I hadn't cleared out one of the cabinets (I literally only had 3 so I don't know how I forgot one). So I had to call the agency I was renting the place through and ask if they could just throw everything out for me. They were honestly the best, and if you're looking to rent a place in London, I can give you their contact deets.
 
The car ride to the airport was emotional. I had lived in a place, all by myself, for 6 months. It was 6 months of trial and error, 6 months of meeting new people and handling situations that I've never been in before. It was 6 months of something completely new, that by the end of it was so familiar and so hard to leave. I never thought how big of an impact London would leave on me, and I didn't think I would actually miss it. But it was 6 months of growth and change. When the plane landed in Copenhagen that night I knew my life would never be the same.
 It was as if everything had changed, but yet time had stood very still in Malmö. 
 
Here's to new adventures ♥
 
//
 
Mitt flyg var klockan 20:30 på en måndag från Gatwick.
Dagarna innan var väldigt känslofyllda. Vi hade en sleepover med Charlie (den coola blå håriga biologen/journalisten som jag träffade på labbet), hängde med Hind (vi delar samma kaffeberoende och offrar varmt kaffe för att få till bra bilder) och sa hejdå till flera andra människor.
Mirriam och jag bestämde att om vi gråter ett par dagar innan jag åkte, skulle vi inte vara lika upprörda samma dag. Det funkade. Typ.
 
Jag började packa mina väskor på lördag. Jag vet faktikst inte varför jag alltid är sista minuten med sånt. Och upptäckte (för sent) att jag inte skulle få plats med allt i 3 väskor + hand bagage, så jag lämnade några saker hos Mirriam som hon fick ta med när hon besökte mig (för ett par veckor sen - mer om det senare).
 
På lördag höll vi oss till området, åkte till Westfield och fick allting gjort (med alla köp osv). På söndag bestämde vi oss för att göra något kul, men ändå hålla oss nära så vi åt på Nando's och gick runt i Olympic Park och avslutade dagen med milkshakes i Tinseltown (världens godaste milkshakes!) och film mys + mer packning för att allt inte var klart. På måndag fick jag gå fram och tillbaks mellan mitt och Mirriams hus för att lämna över saker som jag inte kunde/ville slänga. Det är en ca 2 min promenad dit, så det blev flera promenader. Jag kom också på att jag inte hade rensat ett av mina skåp (jag hade bara 3 skåp så jag fattar inte hur jag kunde glömma). Jag fick ringa mäklaren som jag hyrde stället genom, och frågade lite snällt om de kunde slänga allt. De var helt ärligt jättebra, och om ni letar efter bra mäklare i London området, så kan jag ge er deras kontaktuppgifter.
 
Bilresan till flygplatsen var väldigt känslosam. Jag hade bott på ett ställe, helt själv, under 6 månader. Det var 6 månader av både misslyckade och lyckade beslut, 6 månader av att träffa nya människor och ta mig igenom situationer jag inte tidigare har varit i. Det var helt enkelt 6 månader av något helt nytt, så att det till slut kändes som hemma och då var det svårt att lämna det. Jag trodde inte att London skulle ha ett så stort inflytande på mig och att det skulle sätta så djupa spår. Jag trodde heller inte att jag skulle sakna det.
När flyget landade i Köpenhamn den kvällen visste jag att mitt liv inte skulle bli densamma. 
Det var som att allt hade förändrats, men ändå hade tiden stått still i Malmö.
 
Nu kör vi mot nya äventyr ♥



Comment this post here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (won't publish)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback